Dedman School of Law Dean Search

On January 13, 2022, Provost Elizabeth G. Loboa announced the formation of a search committee to recommend candidates for service as the next dean of the Dedman School of Law.  The committee will present the Provost with recommended candidates in late spring, at the end of its process.

The search committee welcomes support and feedback.  To nominate prospective candidates or to ask questions of the committee, send an email to Chuck O'Boyle, who has been retained as executive search consultant.  


 Dedman School of Law Dean Position Description


Search Committee Members, Dedman School of Law Dean


Matthew B. Myers, Committee Chair
Dean, Cox School of Business; Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership; David B. Miller Endowed Professor

Skyler Arbuckle
SMU Dedman School of Law student; Black Law Student Association, President

Kim Askew
Partner, DLA Piper

M. Scott Barnard
Partner, Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, LLP

Michael M. Boone
Partner, Haynes & Boone, LLP; SMU Board of Trustees member; Dedman School of Law Executive Board member

Dale Carpenter
Judge William Hawley Atwell Chair of Constitutional Law; Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor; Professor of Law

Christa Brown-Sanford
Partner and Deputy Chair of the Intellectual Property Department, Baker Botts; SMU Board of Trustees member; Dedman School of Law Executive Board member

Erika Fadel
Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Dedman School of Law

David Haley
President (retired) HBK Capital Management; SMU Board of Trustees member; and Dedman School of Law Executive Board member

Christopher Hanna
Alan D. Feld Endowed Professor of Law and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor 

Greg Ivy
Associate Dean for Library and Technology and Senior Lecturer, Dedman School of Law

Mike Lynn
Chairman and Founding Partner of Lynn, Pinker, Hurst & Schwegmann

Mary Spector
Associate Dean for Clinics, Director of the Civil/Consumer Clinic, and Professor of Law

David Taylor
Robert G. Storey Distinguished Faculty Fellow, Director of the Tsai Center for Law Science and Innovation, and Professor of Law

Paula Voyles
Assistant Vice President for School and Project Development, Development and External Affairs

Michael Vuong
SMU Dedman School of Law student; Asian Pacific American Law Student Association, President

Amy Ware
Ware Law Firm; Dedman School of Law Executive Board member

Steve Yeager
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs & Faculty Supervisor, Corporate Counsel Externship Program, Dedman School of Law