Links & Resources

Student engagement beyond the classroom happens all over campus. SMU has over 50 programs that offer opportunities for:

  • research
  • creative activity
  • entrepreneurship
  • community service
  • civic engagement
  • internships

To learn more about other ways to engage, click on the program link below.

Find a mentor through our new A2O Mentoring platform!

Program

Office

Faculty/Staff Contact

1

Alternative Breaks

Community Engagement and Leadership

Brittany Barker, bbarker@smu.edu

2

Arts Entrepreneurship

Meadows School of the Arts

James Hart, jdhart@smu.edu

3

Big iDeas Pitch Contest*

Engaged Learning

Jennifer Ebinger, jebinger@smu.edu

4

Big iDeas Business Plan Competition*

Engaged Learning

Jennifer Ebinger, jebinger@smu.edu

5

Budd Center Service

Simmons School of Education

Miya King, miyaking@smu.edu

6

Carole and Jim Young Fellows

Lyle School of Engineering

Christie Pearson, cmpearson@smu.edu

7

Caruth Institute for Entrepreneurship

The Caruth Institute for Entrepreneurship

Dr. Simon Mak, smak@smu.edu

8

Caswell Undergraduate Leadership Fellowship*

Community Engagement & Leadership

Meghan Perez, mmperez@mail.smu.edu

9

Clinton Global Initiative University Network*

Engaged Learning

Jennifer Ebinger, jebinger@smu.edu

10

Cox Internships*

Cox School of Business

Lisa Tran, ltran@smu.edu

11

Departmental Distinction

Department of Political Science

plsc@smu.edu

12

Engaged Learning Fellowship*

Engaged Learning

Dr. Adam Neal, asneal@smu.edu

13

Engineers Without Borders

Lyle School of Engineering

Dr. Andrew Quicksall, aquicksall@smu.edu

14

Faith and Learning Scholars*

Office of the Chaplain & Religious Life

Tyler Kim, cfl@smu.edu

15

George W. Bush Museum and Library Internships

George W. Bush Presidential Library & Museum

bush43Volunteer@nara.gov

16

George W. Bush Institute Internships

George W. Bush Presidential Center

bush43volunteer@nara.gov

17

Global Health Internships

Center for Global Health Impact

Dr. Eric Bing, ebing@smu.edu

18

Hamilton Undergraduate Research Scholars*

Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Dr. Caroline Brettell, cbrettel@smu.edu 

19

Hart Center Co-ops*

Hart Center for Engineering Leadership

Linda Parker, lcparker@lyle.smu.edu

20

Hart Center Internships*

Hart Center for Engineering Leadership

Linda Parker, lcparker@lyle.smu.edu

21

Hegi Internships*

Hegi Career Development Center

Dr. Crystal Clayton, cclayton@smu.edu

22

Hilltop Scholars Program

Office of the University Curriculum

Dr. Marta Krogh, mkrogh@smu.edu

23

Hunt Scholars Program

Hunt Leadership Scholars Program

Corrie Harris, caharris@smu.edu

24

Hunt Institute for Engineering and Humanity

Hunt Institute for Engineering & Humanity

Lindsay Davis, lrdavis@smu.edu

25  Ignite Arts Dallas   Meadows School of the Arts  Clyde Valentín, cvalentin@mail.smu.edu 

26

Innovation Gym

The Deason Innovation Gymnasium

Dr. Seth Orsborn, sorsborn@smu.edu

27

Maguire Center Public Service Fellowships*

Maguire Center

Adria Richmond, arichmond@smu.edu

28

Marr Research Scholars*

Institute for the Study of Earth and Man

Dr. Louis Jacobs, jacobs@smu.edu

29

Mayer Undergraduate Research Fellows*

Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Dr. Caroline Brettell, cbrettel@smu.edu

30

McNair Scholars*

Simmons School of Education

Jacqueline Lowrey, jlowrey@smu.edu

31

Meadows Exploration Award*

Meadows School of the Arts

Clyde Valentín cvalentin@mail.smu.edu

32

Meadows F.A.C.E Program

Meadows School of the Arts

Melissa Murray, mmmurray@mail.smu.edu

33

Meadows World Music Ensemble

Meadows School of the Arts

Jamal Mohamed, jmohmed@mail.smu.edu

34

Mock Trial and Debate Team

Meadows School of the Arts

Dr. Ben Voth, bvoth@smu.edu

35

Mustang Heroes

Community Engagement and Leadership

Micah Johnson, micahj@smu.edu

36 National Fellowships Office of National Student Fellowships Dr. Rachel Ball-Phillips, rmball@smu.edu

37

Norwick Center for Digital Services Internships

Norwick Center for Digital Services

ncds@smu.edu

38

Outdoor Adventures

Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports

Albert Mitugo, amitugo@smu.edu

39

Pre-Health Advising

University Advising Center

Pamela A. McNulty, pmcnulty@smu.edu

40

President's Scholars Program

President's Scholars Program

Dr. Rachel Ball-Phillips, rmball@smu.edu

41

Richter Fellowships*

University Honors Program

Dr. David Doyle, ddoyle@smu.edu

42

SMU Service House

Community Engagement & Leadership

Micah Johnson, micahj@smu.edu

43

SMU Abroad

International Student & Scholar Services

Dr. Cathy Winnie, cwinnie@smu.edu

44

SMU-In-Taos

SMU-In-Taos

Dr. Michael Adler, madler@smu.edu

45

Human Rights Fellowship*

Embrey Human Rights Program

Dr. Brad Klein, kleinb@smu.edu

46  Student Reading Groups   O'Neil Center for Global Markets  Anna Martinez, annam@smu.edu

47

Summer Research Assistantships

Engaged Learning, Undergraduate Research

Dr. Adam Neal, asneal@smu.edu

48

TEDxSMU Lyle School of Engineering

Heather Hankamer, hhankamer@lyle.smu.edu

49

Tower Scholars Program

Tower Center for Political Studies

Olisa Dellas, odellas@smu.edu

50  Undergraduate Research Assistantships* Engaged Learning, Undergraduate Research  Dr. Adam Neal, asneal@smu.edu

 

*denotes funding available