Give Now

Provost's Teaching Recognition Award

Provost's Teaching Recognition Award

The Provost’s Recognition Award honors full-time non-tenure-track faculty who demonstrate a commitment to excellence and a consummate dedication to teaching and learning. The non-tenure-track candidate must have taught credited courses full time for a minimum of 5 continuous years prior to his/her year of nomination. This award provides an opportunity to honor the contributions to teaching at SMU made by these important colleagues. The award carries a $1,000 stipend.


2016 Recipients

Elena Borzova
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Lyle School of Engineering

Professor Borzova has been teaching in the Mechanical Engineering department in the Lyle School of Engineering since 1997.  Because of her ability to engage with students in the most challenging of topics, her recommender said that she is often named the one of the students’ favorite instructors in the department. Professor Borzova has received multiple engineering awards, including the inaugural “Most Memorable Professor Award,” in which students from all five engineering departments vote.  One student evaluator remarked, “her class is a challenge, but a rewarding one that is definitely worth the effort.”

Sal Mistry
Department of Management
Cox School of Business

Professor Mistry joined the SMU community in 2014 and immediately distinguished himself as one of the best teachers in the Cox School. His recommender said, “Professor Mistry cares deeply about his students and their success, and is always striving to be a better teacher by seeking feedback from his students and finding better ways to present the materials.” In addition to almost perfect teaching evaluations across a variety of courses and levels, Professor Mistry supports his students outside of the classroom by giving advice, mentoring, writing letters of recommendation and attending events such as performances. One student commented, “He went above and beyond the call of duty that a professor embodies.” 


To see a list of prior winners of this award, click here.