Give Now

Workshops

Learning Strategies Workshop Schedule


Spring 2018

Each workshop lasts an hour (unless otherwise noted), including self-assessment, instruction, and take-home information to help put new techniques to work.

Drop in for one or all sessions -- no reservations required.

 

Workshop Day Time
Grad School Test Prep Q&A
Tuesday, January 23
1:00 PM (30 minutes)
Time Management Tuesday, January 23 4:00 PM
Time Management Wednesday, January 24
4:00 PM
Transfer Students: Your Transition to SMU Thursday, January 25 1:00 & 4:00 PM
Time Management Monday, January 29 5:00 PM
Technology Resources for Student Success
Tuesday, January 30 4:30 PM (30 minutes)
Note-Taking & Organization Tuesday, January 30 5:00 PM
Grad School Test Prep Q&A Wednesday, January 31 3:30 PM (30 minutes)
Career Readiness w/Microsoft Office Certification
Wednesday, January 31 4:15 PM
Time Management Thursday, February 1
4:00 PM
Concentration & Textbook Reading Monday, February 5 3:15 PM
Study Groups: Maximize your Learning Tuesday, February 6 4:00 PM
Note-Taking & Organization Wednesday, February 7 4:00 PM
Time Management
Thursday, February 8 4:00 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Monday, February 12 4:00 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Tuesday, February 13 4:15 PM
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Thursday, February 15 4:00 PM
Interdependence & Emotional Intelligence
Monday, February 19 4:00 PM
Intro to Excel
Tuesday, February 20 4:00 PM
Excel Formulas & Pivot Tables
Tuesday, February 20 5:15 PM
Motivation Wednesday, February 21
5:00 PM
Concentration & Textbook Reading Thursday, February 22
4:00 PM
Grad School Test Prep Q&A Thursday, February 22 3:30 PM (30 minutes)
Grad School Test Prep Q&A Monday, February 26
5:00 PM (30 minutes)
Time Management
Tuesday, February 27
3:30 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Wednesday, February 28
4:00 PM
Study Groups: Maximize Your Learning
Tuesday, March 20
4:00 PM
Excel: Work Ready Features
Wednesday, March 21
4:00 PM
Motivation
Thursday, March 22
4:00 PM
Memory Techniques
Monday, March 26
4:15 PM
Interdependence & Emotional Intelligence Tuesday, March 27
5:00 PM
GPA 101: SMU Survival Skills Wednesday, March 28
4:00 PM
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Monday, April 2
3:30 PM
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Tuesday, April 3
4:00 PM
LSAT Test Prep
Tuesday, April 17
6:00 PM
GRE Test Prep
Wednesday, April 18
6:00 PM
GRETest Prep
Tuesday, April 24
6:00 PM



Workshops for Finishing the Semester Strong- Choose ONE and bring your calendar and all syllabi!
Plan a Successful Finish: The Last Month Monday, April 9
4:00 PM
Thursday, April 12
4:00 PM
Tuesday, April 17
5:00 PM
Wedsday, April 18
5:00 PM
Prepare for Finals: The Last Week Monday, April 30
4:00 PM
Tuesday, May 1
3:30 PM
Stress Free Zone Open House
Tuesday, May 8
2:00 - 6:00 PM
  

 

 

Missed a workshop?
To request an appointment, visit www.smu.edu/Provost/ALEC/OverviewofServices/AcademicCounseling.