2104 Graduation Day Awards

The Dr. and Mrs. J. P. Bray Award in Hebrew is given to the student who ranks highest in Hebrew scholarship.

Shawn Seguin

The Charles C. Selecman Award in New Testament Greek is given to the student who ranks highest in New Testament Greek scholarship.

Katie Newsome

The Charley T. and Jesse James Bible Awards are awarded to students on the basis of academic achievement in biblical courses and overall scholastic performance. (Ranked)

- 1. Ramsey Patton
- 2. Amy Spaur
- 3. Misty Farris
- 4. Tracy Huselton

<u>The W.B.J. Martin Award in Homiletics</u> is given in recognition of the most outstanding student in the introductory preaching classes.

David Schuler

The W. B. DeJernett Award in Homiletics is given to a senior student with the highest academic average in courses in homiletics.

Amy Moore

The Paul W. Quillian Award in Homiletics goes to students who have presented the best-written sermon.

Emily Miller-Todd and Rebecca Tankersley

<u>The William K. McElvaney Preaching Award</u> is given to a student who has presented the best written sermon on a public issue, which includes a social crisis, a controversial issue, or a chronic social problem.

James Woods

The Robert Weatherford Prize for Internship Preaching was established to honor the distinguished service of Robert Weatherford to the United Methodist Foundation. This award is given to Master of Divinity students for excellence in preaching during internship.

Kevin Johnson, Evelyn Kelly, and Brandon Lazarus

The Bert Affleck Award is given to a student for Creativity in Ministry during Internship.

Joan Wu

The Jerry W. Hobbs Award in Worship was established in memory of United Methodist layman Jerry Hobbs. It is awarded to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence in worship combined with personal commitment to the worship life of the Perkins community during his or her time here.

Marie Fuhrken

The Fellowship Seminarian Award, established by The Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts, is given to a graduating seminary student who displays outstanding leadership in music and/or worship arts including but not limited to, dance, drama, fabric art, and liturgical writing.

Lindsay Smith

The Jane Marshall Award for Outstanding Scholarship and Leadership in <u>Christian Worship</u>. Funded by a gift from Jane and Elbert Marshall, this award is given to a Master of Divinity or Master of Theological Studies student who has demonstrated excellence in the study and practice of Christian liturgy and worship.

Rebekah Rochte

The Hoyt Hickman Award for Outstanding Liturgical Scholarship and Practice is awarded by The Order of St. Luke to the graduating student who has demonstrated quality scholarship in the study of liturgy and is an effective leader of Christian worship.

Cara Ellis

<u>The Master of Sacred Music Award</u> is given to senior M.S.M. students who rank highest in scholarship and service to the community.

NOT GIVEN

The Roger Deschner Prize in Sacred Music was established in memory of Roger Deschner, long-time professor of sacred music at Perkins. The prize is given to continuing M.S.M. students who excel in academic work, musical abilities, and overall achievement in the M.S.M. program.

Benjamin Hensley

The Albert C. Outler Award in Theology is awarded to the student contributing the most outstanding essays in theology during the academic year.

Josefrayn Sanchez-Perry

The Phillip Schaff Prize in Church History, established by Klaus Penzel, is awarded to students who have demonstrated excellence in the historical study of Christianity, while participating in courses in church history. It is named after the founder of the American Society of Church History.

Frances Allington and Lori Evans

<u>The Karis Stahl Fadely Award</u> is presented to students who exhibit the qualities which were exemplified by Karis Fadely: commitment to Jesus Christ and to the total ministry and mission of the Church; responsibility in assigned tasks; ability to excel in a wide range of ministerial functions; and use and management of time.

Tracy Huselton, Alex Latu, and Carrie Leader

The B'nai B'rith Award in Social Ethics is given by the Harold M. Kaufman Memorial Foundation to students on the basis of scholarly competence in the field of Social Ethics and personal commitment as shown in voluntary activity in support of worthy social causes.

Charles Barker, Lisa Hancock, and Lael Melville

The Dr. and Mrs. Glenn Flinn Senior Award is given to that member of the graduating class who, in the judgment of the faculty, best exemplifies the aims of the school and the church for its ministry.

Larry Crudup