Perkins Invites Nominations for 2018 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

DALLAS (SMU) - Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University is accepting nominations for its 2018 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award. The deadline to submit nominations is Sept. 1.

The award, presented annually, recognizes Perkins graduates who have demonstrated effectiveness and integrity in service to the church, continuing support for the goals of Perkins and SMU, distinguished service to the community, and exemplary character.

This year’s recipient will be honored at a dinner banquet on Monday, Nov. 12 from 5 to 7 p.m. in the Fellowship Hall of Highland Park United Methodist Church (3300 Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75205). Cost is $50 per person. Register/purchase tickets here.

Here’s how to nominate a Perkins graduate for this prestigious award:

  • Nominations must be submitted in writing: a letter describing the nominee's career highlights and other accomplishments.
  • Letters or statements from at least two additional people who support the nomination are also required.
  • The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail them together to:
    • Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations
    • Perkins School of Theology
    • PO Box 750133
    • Dallas TX 75275-0133

  • Alternatively, nominations may be submitted via email. Attach the nominating letter and all supporting materials to a single email to:
    • The Rev. Connie L. Nelson
    • Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

    There’s more information about the criteria for the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award here.

    The 2017 Perkins Distinguished Alumnus/a was Bishop Michael McKee (M.Th. ’78), resident bishop of the Dallas Area of The United Methodist Church.

    Here’s the complete list of the award’s recipients, dating back to 1986.


    Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.