Perkins to Offer Houston Lay School of Theology, Feb. 17

DALLAS (SMU) - Father and son team, Bishop Scott J. Jones of the Texas Annual Conference and Rev. Arthur D. Jones of St. Andrew United Methodist Church Plano, will present their recent book Ask: Faith Questions in a Skeptical Age at the upcoming Houston Lay School of Theology.

The day-long course -- scheduled for 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 17, at St. Paul's United Methodist Church (5510 Main St.) -- is sponsored by the Office of External Programs at Perkins School of Theology.

Rev. Arthur Jones - HeadshotRev. Arthur D. Jones 

Bishop Scott Jones - Headshot Bishop Scott Jones

Throughout the course, Bishop Jones and Rev. Jones will stimulate a deeper understanding of how Wesleyan Christianity provides hope for the future. Working from their knowledge of the religious landscape in the United States, they will address pressing questions, such as:

  • Can only one religion be true?
  • Why is there suffering and evil?
  • How can I believe in science and creation?
  • How can I believe in a God I can’t prove?
  • Why do Christians disagree about so many things?

The Houston Lay School of Theology meets each February and August, offering an opportunity for laity and others to explore issues of spirituality, theology and church leadership with faculty from Perkins. Lunch and the purchase price of the book are included in the course fee, with books distributed at the class.  

Advance registration is available through Feb. 12 for $70, with onsite registration costing $80. A $25 welcome discount is available to new attendees, both through advance online registration and at the door. Continuing-education credit (.5 CEU) also is available for an additional $25. A limited number of need-based scholarships are available to assist with the cost of this course. For additional information please contact Denise Espinosa Lloyd at 281-437-6018 during evening hours.

For more information and to register: or call 214-768-2390 


Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.