Deadline to Apply for Merit Scholarships is Feb. 1, 2017

DALLAS (SMU) – Prospective students who complete admissions applications to Perkins School of Theology by Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2017, also will be considered for merit scholarships. No additional application is needed for these scholarships, but eligible applicants must also have attained a cumulative 3.2 grade-point average or higher in previous college coursework.

Merit scholarships offered by Perkins include:
• Charles and Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Fellowships
• Prothro Promise for Ministry Scholarships
• Dean’s Honor Scholarships
• Dean's Honor Scholarships for Houston-Galveston Extension Program Students

Merit scholarships range from $12,000 up to $22,776 annually, and candidates also can apply for need-based awards to round out their financial aid packages. These include Perkins Annual Conference Endowment grants that range from $1,400 to $11,000 per year in potential additional aid for students from many of the United Methodist Annual Conferences in the South Central Jurisdiction.

“Perkins is committed to making your theological education affordable,” said Tracy Anne Allred, Director of Student Services at Perkins. “We also can connect you with outside scholarships, work-study jobs and housing opportunities as you navigate the complexities of financing your degree program. We are here to help you each step of the way.”

Additionally, the $50 application fee will be waived for all those who submit completed applications by Wednesday, March 1, 2017. This is also the deadline for all need-based grants.

Each year, nearly 75 percent of Perkins students will receive some form of financial assistance from Perkins School of Theology. Fellowships and scholarships will be awarded to new students entering in the fall or spring term.

For additional information and for an online application, visit the Admissions section of the Perkins website. If you have any questions, contact Herbert Coleman, director of Recruitment and Admissions at Perkins School of Theology, at or 214-768-2139.


Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.