Perkins Accepting Seals Laity Award Nominations Through Jan. 4, 2016

DALLAS (SMU) – Nominations for the 2016 Perkins School of Theology Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award are being accepted through January 4, 2016.

The annual award is presented to a layperson embodying the Christian faith and commitment of service to Christ as exemplified by Judge Seals, a distinguished layperson whose interest and energy were instrumental in establishing the Perkins Theological School for the Laity.

The 2015 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award recipient was Kay Prothro Yeager, a member of First United Methodist Church, Wichita Falls, in the North Texas Annual Conference. Previous recipients include Bliss Dodd (2014), Linda Marr, Dr. Kenneth and Lila Foree (2013), William E. "Bill" Turner (2012) and Jackie A. Strange (2011). See a complete list of former recipients here.

A dinner honoring both the 2016 Seals Laity Award and 2016 Person of Faith Award recipients is scheduled for 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Friday, March 4, 2016, in the Great Hall of Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall (during the Perkins Theological School for the Laity.)

Nominations for the Seals Laity Award must include:
• A one- to four-page document including a biographical narrative and examples of nominee’s activities showing commitment to Christian service within the three areas of Church, Community, and World
• A minimum of three and maximum of twelve letters of recommendation from clergy and lay leadership of nominee’s congregation and/or denomination, as well as supplemental letters of support from other church or community organizations and officials
• Contact information for primary sponsor who will serve as the contact for Perkins School of Theology

The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail as one package to:

Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations 
Perkins School of Theology 
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133 

Alternatively, letters and other supporting documentation may be sent together as attachments via e-mail to:

Rev. Connie L. Nelson, 
Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

View Additional Information about the Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award.


Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music (June 2016) as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.