Make Plans to Attend Doctor of Ministry information session on Jan. 13

DALLAS (SMU) – Are you considering how you might move your ministry to the next level? The Doctor of Ministry program from Perkins School of Theology can help transform your ministry.

Perkins School of Theology invites all prospective degree students to attend a free information session on its Doctor of Ministry program, scheduled for 9:30 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 13, in Prothro Hall.

In addition to a free lunch with current students and faculty, participants will have an opportunity to speak with Gary MacDonald, director and instructor of the D.Min. Program; meet with alumna Dr. Gayle Landis (M.Div. '99, D.Min. '10), senior pastor of Lakewood United Methodist Church in Dallas; and attend a portion of a D.Min. class.

The Doctor of Ministry degree provides the opportunity for advanced study that integrates theological reflection and ministerial practice with a contextual focus for people in professional ministry within the church. Persons are able to complete the degree while continuing to work fulltime in ministry.

There are six distinct areas of study for the Doctor of Ministry program at Perkins: Evangelism, Missional Church Studies, Parish Leadership, Preaching and Worship, Spiritual Formation, and Urban Ministry. The 27-hour degree program includes a professional practicum and a project thesis.

Visit the Perkins School of Theology website for more information as well as to register for the program. If you have additional questions about the program, contact Gary MacDonald at or 214-768-3161.


Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music (June 2016) as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.