Perkins Invites 2016 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Nominations

DALLAS – The nomination deadline for the 2016 Perkins School of Theology Distinguished Alumnus/a Award has been extended to Oct. 15, 2015.

The annual award is presented to a Perkins graduate who has demonstrated effectiveness and integrity in service to the church, continuing support and involvement in the goals of Perkins School of Theology and SMU, distinguished service in the wider community, and exemplary character.

The 2015 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipients were Rev. Ted J. Dotts, Jr (M.Th. ’64) and Dr. James V. Lyles (M.Th. ’55). Previous recipients include Rev. Karen Greenwaldt, General Secretary of the United Methodist General Board of Discipleship from 2001–2013 (2014), Dr. Roberto Escamilla and Dr. William K. McElvaney (2013), Dr. Mouzon Biggs Jr. (2012) and Bishop Minerva Carcaño (2011). See complete list of former recipients here.

Nominations must be made in writing, with a letter detailing the nominee's career highlights and other accomplishments. Letters or statements from at least two additional persons must be submitted in support of the nomination as well. 

The award will be presented during the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Banquet on Monday, February 1, 2016, during Ministers Week at Perkins School of Theology.

The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail as one package to:

Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations
Perkins School of Theology 
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Alternatively, letters may be sent together as attachments via e-mail to:

Rev. Connie L. Nelson, 
Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

View Additional Information about Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Criteria (PDF)

Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music (June 2016) as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.