Perkins Seeks Nominations For 2015 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

DALLAS – Nominations for the 2015 Perkins School of Theology Distinguished Alumnus/a Award are being accepted through October 1, 2014.

The annual award is presented to a Perkins graduate who has demonstrated effectiveness and integrity in service to the church, continuing support and involvement in the goals of Perkins School of Theology and SMU, distinguished service in the wider community, and exemplary character.

The 2014 Distinguished Alumna Award recipient was Rev. Karen Greenwaldt, General Secretary of the United Methodist General Board of Discipleship from 2001–2013. Previous recipients include Dr. Roberto Escamilla and Dr. William K. McElvaney (2013), Dr. Mouzon Biggs Jr. (2012) and Bishop Minerva Carcaño (2011).  See complete list of former recipients here.

Nominations must be made in writing, with a letter detailing the nominee's career highlights and other accomplishments.  Letters or statements from at least two additional persons must be submitted in support of the nomination as well.

The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail as one package to:
Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations
Perkins School of Theology 
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Alternatively, letters may be sent together as attachments via e-mail to:
Rev. Connie L. Nelson, 
Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

View Additional Information about Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Criteria (PDF)