AWARDS PRESENTED MAY 18, 2013

<u>The Dr. and Mrs. J. P. Bray Award in Hebrew</u> is given to the student who ranks highest in Hebrew scholarship.

NOT GIVEN

<u>The Charles C. Selecman Award in New Testament Greek</u> is given to the student who ranks highest in New Testament Greek scholarship.

Rebecca Tankersley

<u>The Charley T. and Jesse James Bible Awards</u> are awarded to three students on the basis of academic achievement in biblical courses and overall scholastic performance.

Melissa Collier, Elaine Culver, and Reagan Lunn

<u>The W.B.J. Martin Award in Homiletics</u> is given in recognition of the most outstanding students in the introductory preaching classes.

Benjamin Rigsby and Brenda Wideman

<u>The W. B. DeJernett Award in Homiletics</u> is given to a senior student with the highest academic average in courses in homiletics.

Grant Barnes

<u>The Paul W. Quillian Award in Homiletics</u> goes to the student who has presented the best-written sermon.

Carrie Leader and Ramsey Patton

<u>The William K. McElvaney Preaching Award</u> is given to a student who has presented the best written sermon on a public issue, which includes a social crisis, a controversial issue, or a chronic social problem.

Todd Cooper and Eric Pugh

<u>The Robert Weatherford Prize for Internship Preaching</u> was established to honor the distinguished service of Robert Weatherford to the United Methodist Foundation. This award is given to a Master of Divinity student for excellence in preaching during internship.

Billie Watts

<u>The Bert Affleck Award</u> is given to a student for Creativity in Ministry during Internship.

Mirabel Vasquez

<u>The Jerry W. Hobbs Award in Worship</u> was established in memory of United Methodist layman Jerry Hobbs. It is awarded to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence in worship combined with personal commitment to the worship life of the Perkins community during his or her time here.

JoAnne Pounds

<u>The Fellowship Seminarian Award</u>, established by The Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts, is given to a graduating seminary student who displays outstanding leadership in music and/or worship arts including but not limited to, dance, drama, fabric art, and liturgical writing. **The award is presented today by Joe Stobaugh**, MSM '03, President of the Fellowship of United Methodist Musicians and Worship Arts.

Rebecca Garrett

The Jane Marshall Award for Outstanding Scholarship and Leadership in Christian Worship. Funded by a gift from Jane and Elbert Marshall, this award is given to a Master of Divinity or Master of Theological Studies student who has demonstrated excellence in the study and practice of Christian liturgy and worship.

Kelly Anderson

<u>The Hoyt Hickman Award for Outstanding Liturgical Scholarship and Practice</u> is awarded by The Order of St. Luke to the graduating student who has demonstrated quality scholarship in the study of liturgy and is an effective leader of Christian worship.

Grant Barnes

<u>The Master of Sacred Music Award</u> is given to senior M.S.M. students who rank highest in scholarship and service to the community.

Lisa Hancock and Christopher Hoyt

<u>The Roger Deschner Prize in Sacred Music</u> was established in memory of Roger Deschner, long-time professor of sacred music at Perkins. The prize is given to continuing M.S.M. students who excel in academic work, musical abilities, and overall achievement in the M.S.M. program.

Lindsay Smith

<u>The Albert C. Outler Award in Theology</u> is awarded to the students contributing the most outstanding essays in theology during the academic year.

Ernest Bryson

<u>The Phillip Schaff Prize in Church History</u>, endowed by Klaus Penzel, is given to students who have demonstrated excellence in the historical study of Christianity, while participating in courses in church history. It is named after the founder of the American Society of Church History.

Jane Elder

<u>The Karis Stahl Fadely Award</u> is presented to students who exhibit the qualities which were exemplified by Karis Fadely: commitment to Jesus Christ and to the total ministry and mission of the Church; responsibility in assigned tasks; ability to excel in a wide range of ministerial functions; and use and management of time.

Emily Everett and Billie Watts

<u>The B'nai B'rith Award in Social Ethics</u> is given by the Harold M. Kaufman Memorial Foundation to students on the basis of scholarly competence in the field of Social Ethics and personal commitment as shown in voluntary activity in support of worthy social causes.

Regina Franklin-Basye, Brandon Lazarus, and Martha Valencia

<u>The Dr. and Mrs. Glenn Flinn Senior Award</u> is given to that member of the graduating class who, in the judgment of the faculty, best exemplifies the aims of the school and the church for its ministry.

Emily Everett