Dean Lawrence Delivers Perkins Lectures March 3-4, 2013

Annual Perkins Lecture Series of First United Methodist Church, Wichita Falls

Larger Image

William B. Lawrence, Dean and professor of Church History at Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University, delivered the annual Perkins Lectures at First United Methodist Church, Wichita Falls, Texas, March 3-4, 2013.

Dean Lawrence's lectures included:

Sunday, March 3 | 10:30 am: "Truth"


Sunday, March 3 | 7:00 pm: "Strength"

Monday, March 4 | 11:30 am: "Joy"

Monday, March 4 | 7:00 pm: "Victory"

The Perkins Lectures at First UMC, Wichita Falls, were established in 1943 during the pastorate of Paul E. Martin (1938-1944). Martin, who was elected bishop in 1944, had an instrumental role in the decision by Joe and Lois Perkins in 1944-1945 to make a major gift that resulted in changing the name of SMU's School of Theology to Perkins School of Theology.

Past lecturers – including Norman Vincent Peal, Leslie Weatherhead, Carlyle Marney, Fred Craddock, Madeleine L’Engle, Rabbi Harold S. Kushner, and Perkins professors Albert C. Outler, Zan W. Holmes, and Alyce McKenzie, are listed here.

More information about the Perkins Lectures and First UMC, Wichita Falls:

View related article in March 15, 2013, North Texas Conference edition of the United Methodist Reporter (PDF)

Link to First UMC, Wichita Falls - Perkins Lectures