Bishop D. Max Whitfield, Bishop in Residence and Director of the Center for Religious Leadership at Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University SMU

D. Max Whitfield

Bishop in Residence
Director; Center for Religious Leadership



D.Min., Princeton Theological Seminary, 1983; M.Div., Perkins School of Theology, 1969; B.S.A., Arkansas State University, 1966

Professional Distinctions

Elected Bishop 2000, South Central Jurisdiction UMC; Bishop of Northwest Texas/New Mexico Episcopal Area, 2000-2012; Ordained Deacon 1967 and Elder 1970, North Arkansas Conference; Board of Directors, General Board of Discipleship, 2004-2012; Board of Trustees, McMurry University, 2000-2012.

View bio