D. Max Whitfield


B.S.A., Arkansas State University, 1966
M.Div., Perkins School of Theology, 1969
D.Min., Princeton Theological Seminary, 1983

Selected List of Prior Service
Elected Bishop 2000, South Central Jurisdiction UMC
Bishop of Northwest Texas/New Mexico Episcopal Area, 2000-2012
Ordained Deacon 1967 and Elder 1970, North Arkansas Conference

Director of Youth Ministries, FUMC, Plano, TX, 1967-1969
Senior Pastor, Eureka Springs UMC, Eureka Springs, AR, 1969-1972
Senior Pastor, St. Paul Parish, Harrison, AR, 1972-1975
Senior Pastor, Cherry Valley/Vanndale Charge, AR, 1975-1977
Senior Pastor, First UMC, Bella Vista, AR, 1977-1981
Senior Pastor, First UMC, Russellville, AR, 1981-1987
Senior Pastor, First UMC, Springdale, AR 1987-1994
Batesville District Superintendent, 1994-1996
Fayetteville District Superintendent, 1996-2000
South Central Jurisdicational Delegate, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000
General Conference Delegate, 1992, 1996, 2000

North Arkansas Board of Ordained Ministry 16 years
Chairperson, Conference Nominating Committee, 1978-1981
Chairperson, Council on Ministries, 1984-1988
Board of Trustee, Hendrix College, 1984-1990
Member, National Shalom Zone Committee, 1992-1996;
     Chairperson, 2000-2004
Board of Directors, General Board of Global Ministries, 1992-1996
Board of Directors, General Commission on Religion and Race,
     1996-2000; Vice President, 2002-2004
Board of Trustees, Mt. Sequoyah Conference and Retreat Center,
     1996-2008; Chairperson, 2004-2008
Board of Directors, General Board of Discipleship, 2004-2012
Board of Trustees, McMurry University, 2000-2012
Board of Trustees, Lydia Patterson Institute, 2000-2012
Board of Trustees, Southwestern University, 2000-2012
Board of Directors, Methodist Children’s Home, 2000-2009
Member of Inter-agency Task Force on Sexual Ethics, 2008-2012