Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award

Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award

Nominations and Criteria

The Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award is presented annually to a layperson embodying the Christian faith and commitment of service to Christ as exemplified by Judge Seals, a distinguished layperson whose interest and energy were instrumental in establishing the Perkins Theological School for the Laity.

Selection is based upon the nominee’s Christian stewardship, witness, and service in the following three areas: Church, Community and World.

Nominations must include:

• A one- to four-page document including a biographical narrative and examples of nominee’s activities showing commitment to Christian service within the three areas of Church, Community, and World

• A minimum of three and maximum of twelve letters of recommendation from clergy and lay leadership of nominee’s congregation and/or denomination, as well as supplemental letters of support from other church or community organizations and officials

• Contact information for primary sponsor who will serve as the contact for Perkins School of Theology

The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail as one package to:

Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations
Perkins School of Theology
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Alternatively, letters and other supporting documentation may be sent together as attachments via e-mail to:

Rev. Connie L. Nelson, clnelson@smu.edu  
Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

More Information about the Seals Award and Nominations Criteria (PDF)

Read about 2016 Seals Laity Award Recipient

List of all Seals Laity Award Recipients