National History

ΘΤ (Theta Tau) Fraternity was founded in 1904 by four engineering students at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis. The goals of the fraternity are to promote the social and professional development of its members during and after their college years. Today, Theta Tau is the oldest and largest professional engineering fraternity in the United States, with a diverse membership of men and women studying engineering at more than 40 campuses.

The Fraternity was founded as the “Society of Hammer and Tongs” on October 15, 1904, by Erich Julius Schrader, Elwin Leroy Vinal, William Murray Lewis, and Isaac Baker Hanks. The Fraternity’s principal founder, Erich Schrader, dreamed of establishing an engineering fraternity similar to those already existing in law, medicine, and dentistry. The name was changed to Theta Tau at the fraternity’s first national convention at the University of Minnesota in 1911. Since then, approximately 30,000 members have been initiated.

The Theta Tau Central Office is located in Austin, Texas. Within the South Central Region, we have the following Chapters:

Upsilon University of Arkansas, Fayetteville,AK

Psi Beta University of Texas, Austin, TX

Xi Gamma Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

Phi Gamma Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK

For more information, please follow the link to the National Website here.
© Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas | Legal Disclosures | A-Z Site Index | Contact SMU