Give Now

Office of Information Technology

Academic Technology Council

The Academic Technology Governance Council (ATC) was created to ensure that technology services are more effectively aligned throughout the University and to enable the faculty and academic areas to participate directly in providing strategic direction in technology decision-making for campus.

The ATC is comprised of 14 members, including faculty from each school as well as Guildhall and Faculty Senate; representatives of the SMU libraries and the provost’s office; and Jason Warner, leader of the Academic Technology Team within OIT. The council chair is James Quick, Associate Vice President for Research, Dean of Graduate Studies and Professor of Earth Sciences.

The council serves as a primary steward of SMU’s academic technology strategy. Academic leaders serving on the Council will maintain an understanding of the academic technology needs of their school or organization while also advocating for technologies that enhance the capabilities of the University as a whole. Key responsibilities of members include providing input to the annual update of their school or unit’s academic technology strategy, helping to prioritize academic computing projects, providing input to service levels, advocating for SMU’s IT users, and serving as an ambassador to OIT.

Members of the council

Chair: James Quick Office of the Provost
Amit Basu Cox
Dennis Foster, Elfi Kraka, and Tom Fomby Dedman
Nathan Cortez Dedman Law
Richard Briesch Faculty Senate
Mark Nausha Guildhall
Toni Nolen Libraries
Halit Uster Lyle
David Sedman Meadows
Theodore Walker Perkins Theology
Anthony Cuevas Simmons