Give Now

Office of Information Technology


Academic Technology Governance Council

The Academic Technology Governance Council was created to ensure that technology services are more effectively aligned throughout the University and to enable the faculty and academic areas to participate directly in providing strategic direction in technology decision-making for campus.

The Academic Technology Governance Council is comprised of 14 members, including faculty from each school as well as Guildhall and Faculty Senate; representatives of the SMU libraries and the provost’s office; and Jason Warner, leader of the Academic Technology Team within OIT. The council chair is James Quick, Associate Vice President for Research, Dean of Graduate Studies and Professor of Earth Sciences.

The council serves as a primary steward of SMU’s academic technology strategy. Academic leaders serving on the Council will maintain an understanding of the academic technology needs of their school or organization while also advocating for technologies that enhance the capabilities of the University as a whole. Key responsibilities of members include providing input to the annual update of their school or unit’s academic technology strategy, helping to prioritize academic computing projects, providing input to service levels, advocating for SMU’s IT users, and serving as an ambassador to OIT.

Members of the council

Amit Basu Cox
Katherine Engel, Tom Fomby, and Elfi Kraka Dedman
Mark Nausha Guildhall
Nathan Cortez Dedman Law
Halit Uster Lyle
David Sedman Meadows
Anthony Cuevas Simmons
Theodore Walker Perkins Theology
Sreekumar Bhaskaran Faculty Senate
Toni Nolen Libraries
James Quick Provost’s Office

Information Technology Leadership Council

Information Technology Leadership Council was formed to ensure that IT strategy is developed with input from academic and business areas.

The IT Leadership Council is comprised of 6 members representing the Academic Technology Council, Research, Provost, Business and Finance, and OIT. The council is chaired by the Chief Information Officer, Joe Gargiulo.

The council’s objective is to balance and prioritize academic and administrative computing needs by taking feedback from the Academic Technology Council, the campus community, and the Office of Information Technology. Key responsibilities of members include providing guidance to technology strategy, helping prioritize projects, providing input to service levels, advocating for SMU’s IT users, and serving as an ambassador to OIT.

Founding members of the council are as follows:

James Quick Academic Technology Council Chair
Julie Forrester Associate Provost
Vinh Pham Business and Finance Senior Manager
Joe Gargiulo CIO
Curt Herridge IT Senior Manager
Xin-Lin Gao Research PI