Give Now

2012 Archives

SMU announces 2012 Athletics Hall Of Fame class

Kennedy, Hayes, Kelcher, McMillion, Reneberg & Terrell to be honored May 18

March 2, 2012

DALLAS (SMU) - The SMU Athletic Department, in conjunction with the SMU Lettermen's Association, today announced the newest class of its Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2012 inductees - Karlin Kennedy Harris, E.O. "Doc" Hayes, Louie Kelcher, George McMillion, Richey Reneberg and Ira Terrell - will be honored at a dinner and induction ceremony on Friday, May 18, at the Hilton Anatole.

A brief listing of the class and their accomplishments:

Karlin Kennedy Kennedy, who played women's basketball at SMU from 1997-2000, finished her career as SMU's all-time leader in scoring, rebounding, blocked shots and field goal percentage. She was a three-time All-WAC first team selection and was the 2000 WAC Player of the Year.
Ira Terrell Terrell, the 1976 SWC men's basketball Player of the Year, is the only Mustang to average double-double for three seasons, earning All-SWC first-team honors in each of his seasons on the Hilltop (1973, 1974, 1976). He is second all-time at SMU in rebounds (1,077), sixth in scoring (1,364) and second in career scoring average (21.4 per game).
Doc Hayes Hayes coached men's basketball at SMU from 1947-1967. His teams won eight SWC titles, and reached six NCAA tournaments, advancing to the 1956 Final Four. He led 18 players to 30 All-SWC honors and two players to All-America honors. The Texas Sports Hall of Fame member passed away in 1973.
Louie Kelcher A football standout from 1972-1974, Kelcher was named both an All American and the SWC Player of the Year as a senior. The two-time All-SWC selection went on to a great pro career, earning NFL All-Rookie Team honors in 1975 and All-Pro accolades in 1978. The Texas Sports Hall of Fame member was a three-time All-AFC selection and three-time Pro-Bowler.
George McMillion McMillion, known to most on the Hilltop as "Coach Mac," spent nearly 30 years associated with SMU swimming. Starting as an assistant coach in 1957, McMillion was named head coach in 1971 and served in that capacity until 1988. He led the SMU men's swim team to eight consecutive SWC Championships (1971-1979) and was named SWC Coach of the Year in 1972, 1976, 1977 and 1984. He coached 78 All-Americans, 15 NCAA Champions and four Olympic medalists, and his teams finished in the NCAA top 10 14 times.
Richey Reneberg Reneberg was a three-time All-American and two-time SWC Player of the Year during his time on the tennis courts at SMU (1985-87). He was the ITA All-American Singles Champion in 1986 and the NCAA Rookie of the Year in 1985. He went on to a great professional career, winning the 1992 U.S. Open Doubles Championship and the 1995 Australian Open Doubles Championship. He was a member of three U.S. Davis Cup teams and was later selected to the ITA Collegiate Hall of Fame.

The dinner and induction ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. Friday, May 18, at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas. Tickets are available for $200 and tables of 10 are available for $1,500. To purchase, call (214) 768-4314 or visit