Music

Apply Now MSA Visit

Music Faculty By Instrument/Discipline

Meadows faculty members are nationally and internationally recognized for their accomplishments as artists, performers, composers, scholars and educators. They combine strong academic credentials with extensive professional and artistic experience.

Click on the arrows at the top of the columns to sort by name, instrument/discipline, title or email, or, just enter the word you are looking for in the Search box.

Name Instrument/Discipline Title Email
Mancini, David Music Theory Director, Associate Professor of Music Theory dmancini@smu.edu
Achucarro, Joaquin Piano Professor of Piano, Joel Estes Tate Chair jachucar@smu.edu
Adkins, Christopher Cello Adjunct Associate Professor of Cello tygaar@sbcglobal.net
Allen, Sarah Music Education Associate Professor and co-chair of Music Education sarahallen@smu.edu
Anderson, Christopher S.   Associate Professor of Sacred Music csander@smu.edu
Anthony, Ryan Trumpet Adjunct Associate Professor of Trumpet ryantrumpet@aol.com
Baron, Deborah Piccolo Adjunct Assistant Professor of Flute dlbaron23@aol.com
Bax, Alessio Piano Johnson-Prothro Artist-in-Residence, Piano alessiobax@gmail.com
Bentley, Brian Vocal Coach Adjunct Lecturer and Vocal Coach bdbentley@mail.smu.edu
Booth, Tom Trumpet Lecturer of Trumpet, Chair of Brass, Winds and Percussion tbooth@smu.edu
Borok, Emanuel Violin Chair of Strings, Distinguished Artist-in-Residence, Violin eborok@swbell.net
Boyd, Aaron Violin Director of Chamber Music and Professor of Practice in Violin ajboyd@smu.edu
Brink, Ann Marie Viola Adjunct Associate Professor, Viola ahbrink@smu.edu
Bryant, John Percussion Adjunct Assistant Professor, Drum Set and Analysis of Music Production jbryant@smu.edu
Cherry, Kalman Percussion Adjunct Associate Professor, Timpani  
Chung, Lucille Piano Johnson-Prothro Artist-in-Residence, Piano lucillechung@gmail.com
Corbet, Kim Jazz Adjunct Assistant Professor, Jazz/Rock History/Interdisciplinary Studies kimcorbet@gmail.com
Delaney, Jack Meadows Wind Ensemble Director of Bands and Professor of Music; Chair of Instrumental Ensembles delaney@smu.edu
Diaz, Andres Cello Professor of Cello adiaz@smu.edu
Dietert, Dale Voice Senior Lecturer in Voice ddietert@smu.edu
Dupuy, Virginia Voice Professor, Voice vdupuy@smu.edu
Elrod Huffman, Pamela Choral Director Associate Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities pelrod@smu.edu
Engels, Stefan Organ Leah Young Fullinwider Centennial Chair in Music Performance and Professor of Organ sengels@smu.edu
Fabian, Donald Saxophone Adjunct Associate Professor of Saxophone dfabian@smu.edu
Feezell, Mark Music Theory and Composition Senior Lecturer in Music Theory and Composition, Co-Chair of Music Theory and Composition mfeezell@smu.edu
Forbis, Clifton Voice Professor and Chair of Voice hforbis@smu.edu
Frank, Robert Music Composition Associate Professor of Composition and Theory and Director of Electronic Music robfrank@smu.edu
Garner, Paul Clarinet Adjunct Associate Professor of Clarinet garner@smu.edu
Georgievskaya, Liudmila Piano Adjunct Lecturer in Piano and Coordinator of Accompanying lgeorgievs@smu.edu
Good, Matthew Tuba/Euphonium Adjunct Associate Professor of Tuba mgood@smu.edu
Gower, Gillian L. Musicology Visiting Assistant Professor of Musicology ggower@smu.edu
Gunter, Kevin Class Piano and Piano Preparatory Department Lecturer kgunter@smu.edu
Guthrie, Robert Guitar Adjunct Professor of Guitar rguthrie@smu.edu
Hammett, Hank Opera Director Director of Opera, Senior Lecturer; Chair of Vocal Ensembles chammett@smu.edu
Hanlon, Kevin Music Composition Associate Professor-Composition Theory, Co-Chair of Music Theory and Composition khanlon@smu.edu
Hannigan, Erin Oboe Adjunct Associate Professor of Oboe Dallasoboe@att.net
Harder, Lane Music Theory and Composition Lecturer in Music Theory and Composition; Director of SYZYGY lharder@mail.smu.edu
Hawn, C. Michael   University Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Church Music; Director, Doctor of Pastoral Music Program mhawn@smu.edu
Henson, Nora Music Education Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Education nhenson@smu.edu
Holland, Sam   Algur H. Meadows Dean and Professor of Music sholland@smu.edu
Hoops, Haley French Horn Adjunct Lecturer of Horn hshoops@gmail.com
Horne, Derrick Theory, Commercial Music and Production Professor of Practice in Music; Director of the Meadows Jazz Orchestra dhorne@mail.smu.edu
Howard, Doug Percussion Adjunct Professor of Percussion douglas@smu.edu
Hustis, Gregory French Horn Adjunct Professor of Horn gjhustis@att.net
Hwang, Hyae-jin Piano Lecturer in Piano Pedagogy hyaejinh@smu.edu
Jackson, Lynne Music Education Adjunct Assistant Professor in Music Education lynjck@aol.com
Karp, David Piano Professor of Piano dkarp@smu.edu
King, Camille Voice Adjunct Assistant Professor of Voice camillek@smu.edu
Kirkendoll Welch, Kara Flute Adjunct Assistant Professor, Flute welch@smu.edu
Kitzman, Diane Violin Adjunct Associate Professor, Violin kitzman.diane@yahoo.com
Kitzman, John Trombone Adjunct Professor, Trombone jktrb@swbell.net
Krout, Robert E. Music Therapy Professor Emeritus of Music Therapy rkrout@smu.edu
Kupfer, Peter Music History Associate Professor of Musicology; Chair, Department of Musicology pkupfer@smu.edu
Lang, Drew Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Marimba dlang@smu.edu
Larson Garver, Jean Flute Adjunct Professor, Flute jeangarver@sbcglobal.net
Lederer, Thomas Double Bass Adjunct Associate Professor-Double Bass tlederer@smu.edu
Lee, Jon Percussion Adjunct Assistant Professor, Director of Percussion Ensemble jonl@smu.edu
Leone, Carol Piano Chair of Piano Studies, Professor of Piano cleone@smu.edu
Lindstrom, Janice Music Therapy Visiting Lecturer in Music Therapy jlindstrom@smu.edu
Lively, Michael Music Theory and Composition Lecturer in Music Theory mtlively@smu.edu
Lysinger, Catharine Piano and Piano Preparatory Department Professor of Practice, Piano Performance and Pedagogy, Piano Preparatory Department lysinger@smu.edu
Matthews, David English Horn Adjunct Assistant Professor, English Horn davidmatthews7@gmail.com
May, Morgan   Adjunct Lecturer, Language Skills for the Performer’s and Artist Diploma programs morganmay@smu.edu
Mohamed, Jamal Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Director of the Meadows World Music Ensemble; Instructor: Percussion Ensemble, Hand Drumming and Ethnic Percussion jmohmed@smu.edu
Moore, Barbara Hill Voice Professor of Voice bhmoore@smu.edu
Mouledous, Alfred Piano Professor of Piano  
Murray, Melissa Murchison Music Theory Associate Director; Senior Lecturer, Music Theory mmmurray@smu.edu
Nakamura, Naoko Harp Adjunct Assistant Professor of Harp nnakamura@smu.edu
Palmer, Larry Harpsichord and Organ Professor Emeritus of Harpsichord and Organ lpalmer@smu.edu
Perkins, Deborah Music Education Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music Education dperkins@smu.edu
Perry, Brian Double Bass Adjunct Associate Professor, Double Bass bnperry@smu.edu
Phillips, Paul Meadows Symphony Orchestra Martha Raley Peak Centennial Chair and Director of the Meadows Symphony Orchestra paulp@smu.edu
Raden, Gregory Clarinet Adjunct Associate Professor of Clarinet gregraden@verizon.net
Richman, James Harpsichord Adjunct Lecturer, Harpsichord jrichman@smu.edu
Roberts, Wilfred Bassoon Adjunct Professor, Bassoon  
Rose, Ellen Viola Adjunct Associate Professor, Viola erose@smu.edu
Sargon, Simon Composition Professor Emeritus of Composition ssargon@mail.smu.edu
Schmidt, Paul Music Education Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music Education pschmidt@smu.edu
Scott, Julie Music Education Professor of Practice and Co-Chair of Music Education scottj@smu.edu
Smith, Ed Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Vibraphone esmith@smu.edu
Smith, Jason Vocal Coach Lecturer and Vocal Coach jasonsmith@smu.edu
Sudweeks, Barbara Viola Adjunct Associate Professor, Viola linxinmeng@sbcglobal.net
Tague, Daniel Music Therapy Assistant Professor and Chair of Music Therapy dtague@smu.edu
Troyka, Frank Music Education Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Education ftroyka@smu.edu
Tunks, Thomas W. Music Education Professor, Music Education ttunks@mail.smu.edu
Wallmark, Zachary Music History Assistant Professor of Musicology zwallmark@smu.edu
Whitelaw, Laureen L. Musicology Adjunct Assistant Professor of Musicology lwhitelaw@smu.edu
Wnuk, Paweł Bassoon Professor of Practice in Bassoon and Instrumental Music pwnuk@smu.edu
Xi, Wang Music Associate Professor of Music Composition and Theory WangXi@smu.edu

Areas of Study

Advertising

Art

Art History

Arts Management and Arts Entrepreneurship

Corporate Communication and Public Affairs

Creative Computation

Dance

Film and Media Arts

Journalism

Music

About the Division of Music

Undergraduate Studies

Graduate Studies

Classes (See Catalog)

Departments

Ensembles

Facilities

Faculty and Staff

By Instrument/Discipline

Student Resources

Student Internships & Collaborations

MuSci Lab

Meadows Artist Bridge

Dallas Resources

Peak Fellowship Ensemble-in-Residence

SMU Meadows Licensed Music Rights

Workshops and Special Programs

Opportunities for Non-Music Majors

Theatre