EMIS Undergraduate Student Awards

The EMIS Department is home to many accomplished undergraduate students.  A few of them are recognized each year by means of departmental awards based on academic achievement and contributions to the school.

Outstanding EMIS Student

The Outstanding EMIS Undergraduate Student is selected each year by the faculty, based on academic achievement. Previous recipients:

  • 2002: Ashley Noble and James Orr
  • 2003: Steven Schindler
  • 2004: Liana Vetter
  • 2005: Andrew Chambers
  • 2006: Rachel Potter
  • 2007: Andrew Moreton
  • 2008: Brandon Ha
  • 2009: Kathryn Gotcher
  • 2010: Kristin Evanto

Francisco Villagran-Molina Memorial Award

The Francisco Villagran-Molina Memorial Award was established by the EMIS Department and other contributors in remembrance of the individuality and distinctiveness of character by which Francisco touched the lives and hearts of the SMU community. He was a management science graduate who persevered in his battle against blindness and cancer with gentleness and a smile, quietly assuring every one that he was making the most of his time.

The recipient who best exemplifies the dignity of Francisco…who appreciates the opportunity to learn… to improve… and to grow in the knowledge that “what you complete in life echoes [in time without end].” Recipients include:

  • 2004: Katy Moffett
  • 2005: Chris Edison
  • 2006: Laura Bailey
  • 2007: Devin Ritholz and Garlyn Schwarzlose
  • 2008: Ellen Czieskiewicz
  • 2009: Tiffany Griffin
  • 2010: Victoria Cohen