ECE Executive Board


Provide external, professional perspective and guidance to ensure that the SMU ECE Department continues to be a provider of internationally recognized engineering leaders.


  • Support the department in the achievement of its strategic goals.
  • Become an active and positive external spokesperson for the Department.
  • Assist in curriculum development and ABET accreditation
  • Secure financial, technical and research support for the department
Members of ECE Executive Board

Solyman Ashrafi
Nexgen Partners

Ranjit Bhatia
Vice President, Head of Software Sales and Sales Development
BA Digital Services (North America)

Mark Bigham
Chief Innovation Officer
Raytheon IIS

Michael E. Cox
Fish & Richardson, P.C.

Yanli Fan
Design Manager
Texas Instruments, Inc.

Farooq Khan, Ph.D.
R & D Head, Standards/Algorithms, Mobile S/W, RF/Antenna Samsung, Dallas Technology Labs

Sreenivasan Koduri, Ph.D. (Chair)
Texas Instruments, Inc.

Giridhar D. Mandyam, Ph.D.
Vice President
Qualcomm Internet Services

Gil Metzger
Director, Advanced Technology Development
Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control

Dinesh Rajan
Professor and Chair of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Lyle School of Engineering

James Redburn
Automation Engineering Team Leader
Schneider Electric Energy Solution

Mike Riess

Business Development Manager/Strategic Relationship Director
Intel Federal

Kamakshi Sridhar
Director of Wireless Chief Technology Office & Distinguished Member of Technical Staff
Alcatel- Lucent

John Treichler, Ph.D.
Director and Chief Technology Officer
Raytheon Applied Signal Technology

Karthik Vasnath
General Manager
Texas Instruments

Harvey Wiggins
President and Founder
Plexon, Inc.

Jim Womack
Senior Director, Advanced Technologies
Research in Motion

Sally Wood, Ph.D.
Santa Clara University

Charlie Zhang
Samsung Telecommunications of America

Power Zhao, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Manager, T&D Services