CS Academic Advisory Board

Professor Gerald M. Masson (CS, Johns Hopkins) is the founding director of the Information Security Institute at Johns Hopkins University. Prof. Masson has served as Technical Program Chairman of a number of IEEE conference/workshops, including the 1979 International Symposium on Fault-Tolerant Computing. He has participated in the development and presentation of several tutorials for the IEEE, and was guest editor of a special issue of the IEEE Transactions on Computers dedicated to fault tolerant computing in 1988. He has served on the Editorial Boards of the IEEE Transactions on Computers, and the Journal of Digital Systems, and currently is on the editorial board of the Journal of Electronic Testing.

Professor Ravishankar K. Iyer (ECE, U. Illinois, Urbana) is a member of the Coordinated Science Laboratory (CSL) at the University of Illinois, where he is the George and Ann Fisher Distinguished Professor of Engineering. He holds appointments in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the Department of Computer Science and he is Director of the Center for Reliable and High-Performance Computing at CSL. His research interests are in the area of reliable networked systems. Professor Iyer is a Fellow of the AAAS, IEEE, ACM, and an Associate Fellow of the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). He has received several awards including the Humboldt Foundation Senior Distinguished Scientist Award for excellence in research and teaching, the AIAA Information Systems Award and Medal for "fundamental and pioneering contributions towards the design, evaluation, and validation of dependable aerospace computing systems," and the IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award "for fundamental contributions to measurement, evaluation, and design of reliable computing systems."

Professor Robert Redinbo (ECE, UC Davis) has been with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Davis, since 1984. He has also served on the faculty of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the University of Wisconsin, and has been a consultant for companies such as Lockheed-Martin, IBM, and Intel. His research is in the general area of the design and analysis of reliable computing resources, both at the digital system and subsystem levels. His work emphasizes fault-tolerant computer implementations and is motivated by theoretical concepts as well as practical experience. Professor Redinbo also studies real number error-detecting and correcting codes, their design and error correction procedures. Professor Redinbo is a Fellow of The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Professor Emeritus Lotfi A. Zadeh (EECS, UC Berkeley) joined the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at UC Berkeley, in 1959, and served as its chairman from 1963 to 1968. Currently he is a Professor Emeritus in the Graduate School, and is serving as the Director of BISC (Berkeley Initiative in Soft Computing). Lotfi Zadeh is a Fellow of the IEEE, AAAS, ACM, AAAI, and IFSA. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences. He is a recipient of the IEEE Education Medal, the IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal, the IEEE Medal of Honor, the ASME Rufus Oldenburger Medal, the B. Bolzano Medal of the Czech Academy of Sciences, the Kampe de Feriet Medal, the AACC Richard E. Bellman Central Heritage Award, the Grigore Moisil Prize, the Honda Prize, the Okawa Prize, the AIM Information Science Award, the IEEE-SMC J. P. Wohl Career Achievement Award, the SOFT Scientific Contribution Memorial Award of the Japan Society for Fuzzy Theory, the IEEE Millennium Medal, the ACM 2000 Allen Newell Award, and other awards and honorary doctorates. He has published extensively on a wide variety of subjects relating to the conception, design and analysis of information/intelligent systems, and is serving on the editorial boards of over fifty journals.

Professor Srinivas Devadas (EECS, MIT) received his Ph.D. in 1988 from the University of California at Berkeley and has been on the MIT faculty since 1988. He is a Professor of EECS at MIT and currently serves as Associate Head of EECS. His research interests include computer security, computer architecture, computer-aided design of VLSI circuits, formal verification, and computational biology. He has written numerous papers in these areas, and co-authored four books on CAD. He has served on the technical program committees of several conferences, as an Associate Editor of the ACM Transactions on Design Automation, and serves on the editorial board of other journals. He is a Fellow of the IEEE.