ASME North Texas Section Selects Radovan Kovacevic as 2015 Engineer of the Year

Radovan KovacevicDr. Radovan Kovacevic has been named “Engineer of the Year” by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) North Texas Section. The 2015 honor will be celebrated at the Texas Society of Professional Engineers’ 8th Annual Engineers Week Awards Luncheon, February 24, 2015.

Dr. Kovacevic is a professor of mechanical engineering at SMU Lyle and holds the Herman Brown Chair in Engineering. He is founder and director of the Research Center for Advanced Manufacturing (RCAM), as well as SMU’s site director of the NSF Industry/University Cooperative Research Center (I/UCRC) for Lasers and Plasmas for Advanced Manufacturing.

Dr. Kovacevic is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, and the American Welding Society. A recipient of SME’s Taylor Research Medal (2000), a Fulbright Foundation Scholarship (1984-1985), Carl Duisberg Foundation Scholarship (Germany, 1979-1980), and Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Scholarship (Germany, 1976-1978), he was elected to the Montenegrin Academy of Engineering Sciences as a full member in 2013.

Dr. Kovacevic holds seven U.S. patents and more than 20 invention disclosures. He has authored or co-authored six books and more than 580 technical papers. His work has been cited over 5,950 times.

To learn more about the work Dr. Kovacevic is involved with, visit the Mechanical Engineering Department.