Professor MinJun Kim named IEEE senior member

DALLAS (SMU) The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has elevated Dr. MinJun Kim—Robert C. Womack Chair in Engineering and professor in Lyle’s Department of Mechanical Engineering—to senior member. Only 10% of IEEE’s estimated 423,000 members in more than 160 countries around the world have achieved this level of prestige. 

Dr. Kim, whose pioneering research focuses on microrobotics and single molecule biophysics, has been recognized as the first investigator to utilize flagellated bacteria as micro-actuators in engineered systems. He is also an innovator in applying solid-state nanopore systems to investigate high-resolution protein folding/binding kinetics at the single molecule level.

“This recent distinction bestowed upon Professor Kim is a reflection of the high standards established by IEEE to achieve the status of senior member,” said Dr. Ali Beskok, chair of Lyle’s Department of Mechanical Engineering. “His outstanding contributions in the field of microrobotics having potential applications in nanomedicine—targeted/localized drug delivery, minimally invasive surgery, and medical imaging—underpin his level of scholarship and groundbreaking research.”

Dr. Kim earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Yonsei University in Korea, an M.S. in mechanical engineering from Texas A&M University, and a Ph.D. from Brown University, where he held the prestigious Simon Ostrach Fellowship. Following graduate studies, Dr. Kim was a postdoctoral research fellow in the Rowland Institute at Harvard University.

To learn more visit us at:


About SMU

SMU is a nationally ranked private university in Dallas founded 100 years ago. Today, SMU enrolls approximately 11,000 students who benefit from the academic opportunities and international reach of seven degree-granting schools.

About the Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering

SMU’s Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering, founded in 1925, is one of the oldest engineering schools in the Southwest. The school offers eight undergraduate and 29 graduate programs, including master’s and doctoral degrees, through the departments of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Computer Science and Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Engineering Management, Information, and Systems; and Mechanical Engineering. Lyle students participate in programs in the unique Deason Innovation Gym, providing the tools and space to work on immersion design projects and competitions to accelerate leadership development and the framework for innovation; the Hart Center for Engineering Leadership, helping students develop nontechnical skills to prepare them for leadership in diverse technical fields; the Caruth Institute for Engineering Education, developing new methodologies for incorporating engineering education into K-12 schools; and the Hunter and Stephanie Hunt Institute for Engineering and Humanity, combining technological innovation with business expertise to address global poverty.