Executive Board

The Lyle School Executive Board, appointed by SMU President R. Gerald Turner, comprises senior-level corporate leaders who have the experience and vision to help guide strategic directives for the school.

The Board's responsibilities include:

  • Promoting interaction between the Lyle School of Engineering and local and national industry
  • Assisting with broad issues related to curriculum planning, management, evaluation, and charting future instructional and research areas
  • Helping to secure financial support for the school
  • Guiding and promoting general excellence in engineering education and research

Chair of the Executive Board - Arthur L. George, Jr.
Vice-Chair of the Executive Board - Richard K.Templeton

Members of the Lyle School of Engineering Executive Board include:



SMU Logo (transparent) Bill Addy Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer
ISN Software Corporation
Adler John Adler General Partner
Silver Creek Ventures
SMU Logo (transparent) Jennifer Bailey Vice President, Internet Services, Apple Pay  
Apple Computer, Inc.

SMU Logo (transparent)

Kelvin Beachum, Jr.  
Berg Donald Berg Donald A. Berg, Inc.
 SMU Logo (transparent) Mark A. Bradley

North Shore Capital

Jim Brogan Partner
Cooley LLP
 SMU Logo (transparent)  Richard R. Chang  
Cullum G. Mark Cullum President
Cullum Construction Co., Inc.
Austin Curry Principal
Caldwell Cassady Curry P.C.
 SMU Logo (transparent) Douglas (Doug) Deason President
Deason Capital Services
Abha Divine Managing Director
Techquity Capital Management LLC
 SMU Logo (transparent) Delores M. Etter Professor Emeritus
Southern Methodist University
SMU Logo (transparent) Andre Fuetsch CTO
AT&T Labs
SMU Logo (transparent) Arthur L. George, Jr. External Engagement Partner
The George Development Group
Retired, Senior Vice President & Manager of Analog Engineering Operations
Texas Instruments
Goren Bella Goren Board Member
LyondellBassell Industries  
SMU Logo (transparent) Robert W. Haley Professor
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Mhart Milledge A. Hart, III Chairman of the Board
Hart Group, Inc. and Rmax
Hegi Frederick B. Hegi, Jr. Founding Partner
Wingate Partners
Hunt Hunter L. Hunt President and CEO
Hunt Consolidated Energy
 SMU Logo (transparent) Thomas G. Kamp Independent Director and Investor
356 Asset Management
David K. Kao Managing Partner
Advantage Resources Group
 SMU Logo (transparent) Elizabeth Karahan  Co-Owner
The Karahan Companies
Lyle Bobby B. Lyle Chairman, President & CEO
Lyco Holdings, Inc.
Marr Ray H. Marr President
Marr Oil and Gas Ltd.
 SMU Logo (transparent) Bob McDermott, P.E. Executive Vice President and COO
Huitt-Zollars, Inc.
Ameyer Angela Meyer, P.E. Vice President
Exponent, Inc.
 SMU Logo (transparent) Gil Metzger Director, Applied Research
Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
 SMU Logo (transparent) Peter Nies  
Nowlin E. E. Boots Nowlin, Jr. Senior VP of Investments
Palmer C. Robert Palmer Chairman Emeritus
Rowan Companies, Inc.
Paluck Robert J. Paluck Managing Director
CenterPoint Ventures Co.
Pegues Michael D. Pegues Shareholder
Polsinelli, P.C.
Perry Elizabeth Perry Vice President Engineering
Ciena Corporation
 SMU Logo (transparent) Dale Petroskey  Dallas Regional Chamber
SMU Logo (transparent) Krish  Prabhu Retired
AT&T Labs and CTO
Richard H. Schulze

Trinity Consultants, Inc.
Athena Group, Inc.

SMU Logo (transparent) Richard Simonson Chief Finance Officer and Executive VP
Sabre Corporation
Solomon William T. Solomon Retired Chairman/CEO
Austin Industries, Inc.
 SMU Logo (transparent) Michael G. Sullivan  
 SMU Logo (transparent) Sokunthear (Thear) Suzuki Advisory Services Leader, Southwest Region
Ernst & Young
Richard K. Templeton Chairman, President and CEO
Texas Instruments
Vacante Russell Vacante President
RMS Partnership Inc.
Watson James F. Watson President
James Watson, LLC
Robert Watson Robert L. G. Watson Chairman, President and CEO
Abraxas Petroleum Corporation
Weiser Jeff Weiser CEO
PayGo Utilities
Whitten Charles W. Whitten Professor & Chairman
Holder, Margaret Milam McDermott Distinguished Chair in Anesthesiology and Pain Management
U.T. Southwestern Medical Center
SMU Logo (transparent) Harvey Wiggins CEO
Plexon Inc.
 SMU Logo (transparent) Dan Wittliff Managing Director of Environmental Services
GDS Associates
Zollars Robert L. Zollars President
Huitt-Zollars, Inc.