Calendar of Events

Spring Term 2019

    November 5–January 25, Monday–Friday: Enrollment for spring 2019 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle and Meadows.
    January 10, Thursday: Residence halls officially open at 9:00a.m. for new students.
    TBA - January: Residence halls officially open at 9:00a.m.
    January (TBA): Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation conferences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. More information about AARO is available from New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560, www.smu.edu/newstudent.
    January 1, Tuesday: New Year’s Day. University offices closed.
    January 18, Friday: First day of classes.
    January 21, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. University offices closed.
    January 25, Friday: Last day to enroll, add a course, or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term. Last day to file for graduation in May.
    February 1, Friday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply). Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies). See Bursar’s website for more information.
    February 5, Tuesday: Last day to declare pass/fail or no credit grading options. Also, last day to request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday.
    February 25, Monday: Early intervention grades due for first-year undergraduate students.
    March 13, Wednesday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before April enrollment.
    March 11 -17, Monday-Sunday: Spring break.
    March 26, Tuesday: Midterm grades due for first-year and sophomore students.
    April 2, Tuesday: 60 percent point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
    April 8-26, Monday–Friday: Enrollment for summer 2019 and fall 2019 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle and Meadows.
    April 9, Tuesday: Last day to drop a course (grade of W).
    April 12, Friday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete, and to obtain a final grade for a grade of X or a missing grade from a previous term.
    April 15, Monday: Honors Convocation, 5:30 p.m.
    April 19, Friday: Good Friday. University offices closed.
    April 21, Sunday: Easter Sunday.
    April 24, Wednesday: Students should file for August or December graduation. Last day to file for August graduation is June 6. Last day to file for December graduation is the last day to enroll for fall 2019.
    April 26, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
    May 1–6, Wednesday–Monday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
    May 2, Thursday: Last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
    May 6, Monday: Last day of classes.
    May 7, Tuesday: Reading Day.
    May 8–14, Wednesday–Tuesday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).
    May 15, Wednesday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.
    May 17, Friday: Baccalaureate.
    May 18, Saturday: Commencement Convocation. Official close of term and conferral of degrees.
    May 19, Sunday: Residence halls officially close for graduating seniors.