Tables of Content

Tables of Content events

Tables of Content

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Literati Award

Skip HollandsworthThe Literati Award honors individuals who have used the written word to advance the ideals of creativity, conviction, innovation and scholarship and who have had a significant impact on culture and the community through their work. This award was created by the Friends of the SMU Libraries/Colophon in 2010 and was established in honor of the 40th anniversary of the founding of the organization to celebrate the power of the written word and to recognize significant achievements in creativity.

The 2018 Literati Award recipient is author and journalist, Skip Hollandsworth.

Skip Hollandsworth grew up in Wichita Falls, Texas and attended TCU in Fort Worth. After graduation in 1979 he worked as a reporter and columnist for the Dallas Morning News and the Dallas Times Herald. He also has worked as a television producer and documentary filmmaker. Since 1989, he has been a staff writer at Texas Monthly magazine, where he has received several journalism awards, including a National Headliners Award, the national John Hancock Award for Excellence in Business and Financial Journalism, the City and Regional Magazine gold award for feature writing, and the Texas Institute of Letters O. Henry award for magazine writing. He has been a finalist four times for a National Magazine Award, the magazine industry’s equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize, and in 2010 he won the National Magazine Award in feature writing for “Still Life,” his story about a young man who, after suffering a crippling football injury while a student at Dallas’ Hillcrest High School, spent the next 33 years in his bedroom, unable to move. The movie "Bernie," which Hollandsworth co-wrote with Richard Linklater, was released in May 2012. It is based on a story he wrote in the January 1998 issue of Texas Monthly titled "Midnight in the Garden of East Texas." His book, The Midnight Assassin was published in April 2016 and became a New York Times bestseller.  The Midnight Assassin is a history of Austin, Texas in the year 1885 when a brutal but brilliant serial killer went on a rampage, ritualistically slaughtering seven women over the course of twelve months, and setting off a citywide panic. Three years later, when a man nicknamed Jack the Ripper carried out a similar series of killings in the Whitechapel district of London, England, Scotland Yard detectives speculated that he was the Austin killer who had traveled overseas to continue to carry out his "diabolical work." In its review, The New York Times described the The Midnight Assassin as “true crime of high quality,” “smart and restrained” and “chilling.” The Wall Street Journal called the book a “thoroughly researched, excitingly written history” and an “absorbing work.”

Image Credit: Laura Wilson

Past Recipients

Jim Hart ’69 (2010)

Laura Bush ’68 (2011)

Marsh Terry ’53, ’54 (2012)

Lee Cullum ’61 (2013)

Kay Bailey Hutchison (2014)

Willard Spiegelman (2015)

Darwin Payne ’68 (2016)

Rena Pederson (2017)