Library Staff Awards

SMU Libraries Header

SMU Libraries Staff Awards

General Information

The Committee for the SMU Libraries Staff Recognition Awards is seeking nominations for the 2016/2017 awards.  The awards recognize outstanding contributions to the Libraries and/or to the information professions, and service to library users.  There are five awards carrying a monetary prize of $500.00 each.  The Rookie of the Year award carries a $250.00 monetary prize.  General considerations and criteria for these awards can be found here.

All members of the SMU libraries staff [except the directors of Bridwell Library, Business Library, Central University Libraries, and Underwood Law Library and those who have won the award within the previous five years (see list)] are eligible for the awards as defined in the criteria.  The Awards Committee encourages any member of the SMU Community to submit nominations.

The Awards Committee will maintain confidentiality with regard to all nominations and will vote by secret ballot.  The Committee will make recommendations for recipients of the awards to the Council of Library Directors, who will make the final decisions.

The Awards Committee is made up of the previous years' winners.  All nominations are due by noon, Friday March 17, 2017.  Please submit nominations using the electronic form or you may pick up a paper form from any campus library and deliver it to Room 300, Fondren Library East (Attn: Cindy Ruppi) or send it via campus mail to:

Cindy Ruppi
Awards Committee
Central University Libraries
PO Box 0135

The Awards ceremony and reception will be held on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at 3:00 pm in the CUL Staff Auditorium (SIC 364).  All members of the SMU Community are invited to attend.