Law Student Engagement and Success

Career Services

Carr Collins,Suite 300

Karen Sargent, Assistant Dean and Executive Director: 214-768-3893 or kcsargent@smu.edu
Dana Minissale, Director: 214-768-1469 or dminissale@smu.edu 
Erika Fadel, Director: 214-768-2850 or efadel@smu.edu
Linda Hale, Adviser, LL.M. Program for Foreign Law Graduates: 214-768-2622 or lhale@smu.edu
Beth Lee, Senior Associate Director: 214-768-4065 or beth@smu.edu
Mary Beth Nielsen, Associate Director: 214-768-4049 or mnielsen@smu.edu

  • Assessing Your Strengths and Practice Area Interests
  • Gaining Experience
  • Job Search Counseling
  • Resume Review and Cover Letters

Diversity and Inclusion

Carr Collins, Suite 309
Erika S. Fadel, Director, Diversity and Inclusion: (214) 768-2850 or efadel@smu.edu

Local Affinity Bar Associations:

Externship Programs

  • Corporate Counsel Externship Program:
    Stephen B. Yeager: 214-768-4178 or syeager@smu.edu
  • Government & Public Interest Externship Program:
    Laura Burstein: 214-768-2567 or lburstein@smu.edu

International Students

Carr Collins, Suite 328

Martin C. Camp, Assistant Dean for Graduate and International Programs: 214-768-2839 or mlcamp@smu.edu
Linda Hale, Career Services Adviser, LL.M. Program for Foreign Law Graduates: 214-768-2622 or lhale@smu.edu
Bobbye Heine – 214-768-2108 or bheine@smu.edu

Judicial Clerkships

Carr Collins, Suite 305

Linda Hale Adviser, Judicial Opportunities, and Liaison to the Judiciary: 214-768-2622 or lahale@smu.edu
 

Lactation Room

Storey, Inside Women’s Restroom in basement

  • Private room in which female students, faculty, and staff can pump and feed their children; refrigerator available
  • Pass code required – obtain from Betty Alexander: 214-768-2620 or bettya@smu.edu

Mustang Exchange

Storey, Suite 130A

One of the first mentorship programs of its kind, SMU Dedman School of Law's Mustang Exchange is an innovative "flash" mentorship program that connects each law student with multiple alumni and friends for one-on-one mentoring meetings. Instead of a traditional mentorship program that pairs one student with only one mentor for the year in hopes that a beneficial relationship will develop naturally, the Mustang Exchange offers an SMU Law student the chance to build his or her legal network from Day One by connecting with multiple alums and friends.  Students meet with mentors throughout the school year for career conversations, law school guidance, cover letter review, mock interviewing, and job shadowing experiences. For more information, contact lawmentor@smu.edu.

Public Service Hours

Carr Collins, Suite 320

Laura Burstein, Public Service Director: 214-768-2567 or lburstein@smu.edu
Lynn Moubry, Administrative Assistant: 214-768-2761 or lmoubry@smu.edu
  • Completing Your Public Service Graduation Requirement• Pre-Approved Placements
  • Public Service Internships/Externships/Fellowships
  • Planning a Public Interest Career

Student Affairs

Storey, Suite 130B

Stephen B. Yeager, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs:
214-768-4178 or syeager@smu.edu

SMU Dedman Law Students: Dean Yeager has an open door policy, or you may schedule time with him Online 
Moira Cary, Administrative Assistant: 214-768-2098 or mcary@smu.edu  (125 Storey – Registrar’s Office)
  • Student Performance and Well-Being
  • Any Form that Requires A/The “Dean’s” Signature
  • SBA and Student Organizations
  • Student Wellness Initiatives
  • Board of Law Examiners - Character and Fitness Issues
  • Reports of Alleged Violations Under Honor Code

Student Directory

This is a password-protected law student directory.  Use your SMU ID and password to login.

Student Lounge

The law student lounge is located on the first floor of Carr Collins, Jr. Hall. It contains a television, sofas and study desks as well as a full refrigerator and microwave for students who bring lunch or dinner to campus.

Webcasts

Videos of law school programs and speakers are available at this password-protected site. Use your SMU ID and password to login.