Congratulations Board of Advocates

SMU Dedman School of Law's
2015-2016 Moot Court Teams



SMU BOA Ranked 5th in Nation!

SMU Board of Advocates has had one its most successful years and is pleased to announce that SMU is ranked fifth in the National Moot Court rankings. This year the SMU Board of Advocate students won two national championships, two regional championships, five brief awards, and sixteen speaker awards. The also won five finalist awards, nine semifinalist awards and many other awards in the twenty-two national and international competitions.

2016 Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Moot Court Competition 

New York (April 2016)  Courtney Capshaw, Raja Chatterjee, and Chase Cobern represented SMU last weekend at the Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Moot Court Competition in New York City. After competing in the preliminary rounds, the team advanced to the Octofinals, where they placed in the top 16 teams in the competition. The team was coached by Hunter Oliver (Baylor Law School '13) and Sam Bragg (SMU Law '15).

 The Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Moot Court Competition is hosted by the Moot Court Honor Society on Brooklyn Law School's campus in the heart of Brooklyn Heights.The competition hosts teams from over 36 different law schools across the country. The competition's problem features emerging evidentiary issues, which typically concern criminal law and practice. This year's problem involved the collection of geolocation data from a cellular phone, the use of the ancient document hearsay exception, and the relationship between a dying declaration and the Confrontation Clause.

 Please congratulate these students on their success and hard work!


Pictured from left to right: Hunter Oliver (Coach), Raja Chatterjee, Courtney Capshaw, Sam Bragg (Coach), Chase Cobern 

Fordham Securities Moot Court

New York (April 2016)  Please join the BOA in congratulating Martin Dungan, Hanna Kim, and Emily Liu, who competed this past weekend in the Fordham Securities Moot Court Competition in New York.

The team, coached by Michael Ma, ultimately advanced to the semi-final round. The team's brief was awarded 4th Best Brief. Additionally, Emily Liu was named the competition's 2nd Best Speaker.



Pictured from Left to Right: Michael Ma (Coach), Emily Liu, Hanna Kim, Martin Dungan

2016 SMU Top Gun Competition

(April 2016)  The Board of Advocates would like to recognize and congratulate this year's SMU Top Gun Winner:

Tyler Eyrich

Congratulations Tyler!

Wagner Labor & Employment Moot Court

New York (March 2016)  SMU's Robert F. Wagner Labor & Employment Moot Court team, who competed in New York City on March 18-19. The team, comprised of Evan Atkinson and Daniel Troiano, coached by Dennis Siaw-Lattey and Nel Fedorov, advanced to the Final Four out of 38 total teams competing.

The team competed in three preliminary and three elimination rounds, defeating the University of Alabama and the University of Virginia in preliminary rounds. After re-seeding for the elimination rounds, SMU was ranked fifteenth, upsetting the two seed, Charlotte School of Law. In the Quarter-finals, SMU was seeded Seventh and again upset the two seed, South Texas College of Law, to advance to the Final Four. In the Final Four, SMU fell to the competition's ultimate champion, the University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law.

Please congratulate the team members if you see them on campus.


Pictured from Left to Right: Dennis Siaw-Lattey (Coach), Evan Atkinson, Daniel Troiano

Clara Barton Law of Armed Conflict Team

Seattle (March 2016)   SMU's Clara Barton law of armed conflict team competed in Seattle on March 12-15. Of all teams to submit a brief in the fall, only fifteen were chosen to compete based on brief submissions. SMU's team, comprised of Parke Presnell, Will Stovall, Micah Chambers, and Ken Haesly, coached by Professor Chris Jenks, were one of four teams selected to compete in the semi-finals. 

The team performed well, ultimately falling in the Semi-final round to Minnesota, who defeated Harvard in the finals.

This is SMU's second year participating in the Clara Barton competition and we are one of only 9 law schools (American, Chicago, Georgetown, Emory, Harvard, Minnesota, UCLA and UVA) in the country to have made the national round twice.


Pictured Left to Right: Parke Presnell, Will Stovall, Micah Chambers, Ken Haesly

SMU Dedman Law Duberstein Moot Court Team!

The first time in Duberstein history that a law school has won back to back.

NEW YORK (March 2016)  Angela Oliver, Allison Stewart and Luciana Milano (Brief Writer) won the national competition held March 5 - 7 in New York City. Angela also received an Outstanding Speaker Award. This is Angela's second year in a row winning this competition and SMU's third championship at Duberstein in four years. SMU is the first law school to win the national competition back to back in Duberstein's history.

Barret Armbruster, Meredith Borschow and Audrey Leeder advanced to the Octo-Finals (top 16). Barret also received an Outstanding Advocate Award.

There were 55 teams there. 5 outstanding speaker awards given out (Barret and Angela got two of them).   CLICK HERE to read more on the competition.


(Left to Right)  Barret Armbruster, Allison Stewart, Angela Oliver, Luciana Milano,
Liz Boydston (coach), Audrey Leeder, Meredith Borschow, and Omar Alaniz (coach).
Also Tim Springer (coach) is appearing via FaceTime in the photo.

Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court

(March 2016)    Please join the Board of Advocates in congratulating our Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court competition team for their outstanding finish this past weekend.
Led by Prof. Bill Bridge, students Walker Young, Zainab Khan, Jake Jekabsons, and Samantha Johnson went 3-1 in the preliminary rounds and advanced to the quarterfinals. The team finished in the Top 8 Teams. 


Jake Jekabsons, Samantha Johnson, Zainab Khan and Walker Young

Moot Court Team Advances to National Competition

New York (February 2016)  SMU competed at the 66th Annual National Moot Court Competition in New York. The team, comprised of Sarah Michelle Stearns, Ryan Jones, and Ryan Seay advanced to this National competition after coming in Second Place in the Regional competition in Dallas last year. 

In New York, the team advanced to the semi-finals, and won on oral argument but did not advance past Georgetown based on brief and total scoring. The team was coached by Lance Caughfield and Haleigh Jones.

This is one of the most competitive and prestigious  competitions in the country. 


Pictured (Left to Right): Ryan Jones, Haleigh Jones, Lance Caughfield,
Sarah Michelle Stearns, and Ryan Seay