Categories of Distinguished Alumni Awards

Robert G. Storey Award for Distinguished Achievement
Charles O. Galvin Award for Extraordinary Service
Distinguished Alumni Award for Judicial Service
Distinguished Alumni Award for Private Practice
Distinguished Alumni Award for Corporate Service
Distinguished Alumni Award for Government Service
Distinguished Alumni Award for Public Service
Distinguished Alumni Award for Academic Service
Distinguished Global Alumni Award
Emerging Leader Award
Honorary Alumnus or Alumni Award
*Note: each award is not presented every year

Robert G. Storey Award For Distinguished Achievement

The Storey Award is the highest award that the law school can bestow.  Its standard is simple: “Distinguished Lifetime Achievement.”  The Storey Award is named in honor of Robert Story, Dean of SMU Law School from 1947 to 1959.  Dean Storey served as executive trial counsel for the U.S. at the Nuremberg Trial of major axis war criminals.  During his illustrious Deanship, he founded the Southwestern Legal Foundation, served as the President of the American Bar Association, served as President of the Inter-American Bar Association, and was a member of the Commission to Reorganize the Executive Branch of Government (Hoover Commission).  He was also a board member and Chair of the Fulbright Scholarship Commission and Vice Chair of the U.S. Civil Rights Commission.

Charles O. Galvin Award for extraordinary Service 

The Galvin Award was established in 1999 to honor the outstanding legal career and extraordinary contributions and service of a remarkable SMU Law alum.  Dean Charles O. Galvin lived a life of service—service to his country, service to the community, and service to SMU Dedman School of Law.  Dean Galvin proudly served in the U.S. Navy in the Pacific Theatre during World War II and was honorably discharged as a Lieutenant Commander.  Dean Galvin received numerous prestigious awards for his extraordinary service to the community and practice including the Intellectual Leadership award from the National Council of Catholic Men, the Equal Justice Award of Legal Services of North Texas, the John Rogers Award from the Southwestern Legal Foundation, and the Texas Bar Foundation’s recognition of 50 years of service to the profession.  Finally, for over thirty years,  Galvin served as the Dean of the SMU Dedman School of Law and as a faculty member. A few of Galvin’s major achievements during his time as Dean included the completion of the Law Quad, the building of the Underwood Library, and the establishment of the William Hawley Atwell Chair of Constitutional Law, the law school’s first endowed chair.

Emerging Leader Award

An SMU Law alumnus or alumna who is a recent graduate and has demonstrated a record of extraordinary service and achievement to a particular organization or cause, thereby bringing distinction to the law school.

Honorary Alumnus Award

A person who is not a graduate of SMU Dedman Law but demonstrates a record of distinguished service and extraordinary achievement to his/her discipline, organization, or cause and has made a notable commitment in time and/or resources to SMU Dedman School of Law.