Honorary Members

R. Gerald Turner, President of SMU

Honorary Member 2010

A native of New Boston, Texas, President Turner transferred to Abilene Christian University and earned a B.S. degree in psychology. He later earned his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in psychology from The University of Texas at Austin. Before joining SMU in 1995, President Turner was the chancellor of University of Mississippi and served in administrative and teaching positions at the University of Oklahoma and Pepperdine University.

The Honorable Jeanne L. Phillips, Member of SMU’s Board of Trustees

Honorary Member 2011

The Honorable Jeanne L. Phillips transferred to SMU and earned a bachelor’s degree from the university in 1976. She served as United States Representative to the Paris-based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development from 2001 to 2003. Ambassador Phillips currently is Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs and International Relations at Hunt Oil Company. Phillips sits on the Board of Trustees at SMU.

Dr. Stephanie Dupaul, Associate Provost

Honorary Member 2012

Dr. Stephanie Dupaul was SMU’s Associate Provost from 2011-2015. Previously, she served as SMU’s Interim Dean of Admission and Cox’s director of undergraduate admissions. Before coming to SMU, she worked as an advisor at Dallas County Community College District’s Brookhaven College, preparing students for transfer to 4-year institutions. She currently is Vice President for Enrollment Management at University of Richmond.

Dr. Vicki Hill, Assistant Dean for the University Curriculum and Adjunct Lecturer, Department of English

Honorary Member 2013

Serving in many roles during her almost 30 years at SMU, Dr. Hill is the Assistant Dean for the University Curriculum and previously led the Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center. As an undergraduate, she transferred to University of California, Berkeley. She knows first-hand the challenges faced by transfers.

Candy Crespo, Assistant Director of the Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility

Honorary Member 2014

Ms. Crespo is the assistant director of SMU’s Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility and lecturer at the Center for Nonprofit Management. She also serves on the Veterans Advisory Board. Ms. Crespo transferred to SMU from Dallas County Community College District’s Richland College, and now holds both a bachelor’s and two master’s degrees from SMU.

Dr. Christine Buchanan

Honorary Member 2015

Dr. Buchanan retired from SMU in 2015 after nearly four decades of service as a professor of biological sciences. She was named Professor Emeritus upon her retirement. Dr. Buchanan received the Outstanding Faculty Award and was one of three initial winners of the Thomas W. Tunks Distinguished University Citizen Award for long-standing service to SMU. Among her many contributions to the university, Dr. Buchanan worked tirelessly to insure transfer students had a smooth transition to SMU.

Steven C. Curial

Dr. Steve Currall, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Honorary Member 2016

Provost Currall joined SMU in January 2016. As the University’s chief academic officer, Provost Currall oversees all aspects of academic life, ranging from admissions and faculty development to supervision of SMU’s seven schools, library system, and international programs. He is responsible for the Office of Research and Graduate Studies, Central University Libraries, satellite Campuses in Plano, Texas and at Taos, New Mexico, the Office of Assessment and Accreditation, the Office of Institutional Research, the International Center, the Center for Teaching Excellence and the Division of Enrollment Services, and several student programs such as the SMU honors groups. He is the David B. Miller Endowed Professor. He also holds academic appointments as Professor of Management and Organization in the Cox School of Business and is Adjunct Professor of Psychology in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences and Adjunct Professor of Engineering Management, Information, and Systems in the Lyle School of Engineering.

Dr. Thomas W. Tunks, Professor of Music Education

Honorary Member 2017

Dr. Tunks is a Professor of Music at Southern Methodist University’s Meadows School of the Arts. He previously served as the Associate Provost at SMU from 1998 to 2011.  His professional experience includes teaching in Michigan public schools, serving as music consultant to the Ministry of Education and as professor of low brass at the Conservatorio del Tolima while in the Peace Corps in Colombia, South America. After receiving a Ph.D. degree in music from Michigan State University in 1973, he taught at Loyola University in New Orleans and the University of Kentucky, and was head of Music Education at SMU from 1980 until being named Associate Dean of SMU’s Meadows School of the Arts in 1992.  His primary research interests are music learning and perception, and his most enjoyable teaching time is devoted to Acoustics of Music, Music - The Art of Listening, and graduate Music Education seminars.

Dr. Kenechukwu (K.C.) Mmeje, Vice President for Student Affairs

Honorary Member 2018

Dr. Mmeje is Vice President for Student Affairs at Southern Methodist University.  Dr. Mmeje's previous experience includes positions such as assistant vice president and dean of students at Loyola University Chicago.  Mmeje has been responsible for several functional areas that support Loyola’s academic mission and promote a vibrant campus life, including the Office of the Dean of Students, Off-Campus Student Life, Office of Student Conduct & Conflict Resolution, Student Activities & Greek Affairs, Leadership Development and Second Year Experience, Student Diversity & Multicultural Affairs, and the Student Government of Loyola Chicago (SGLC). He has almost 15 years of progressively responsible student affairs experience in judicial affairs, crisis management, retention and academic support services, and student advocacy and support.

Judy Henneberger

Dr. Judy Henneberger, Associate Chaplain to the University

Honorary Member 2018

A native of south Louisiana, Dr. Henneberger received her bachelors in General Studies with an emphasis in women's studies and psychology from the University of Texas at Dallas. She holds a Masters of Theological Studies from the University of Dallas, as well as a Doctor of Minstry from Perkins School of Theology. All summed up, her work in pastoral ministry spans over thirty years, including eleven as Campus Minster of the Catholic Community at SMU. She oversees the Resident Chaplains Programs.