WELCOME TO SMU

his afternoon you have become a part of our community. The Rotunda Processional symbolizes this transformation. You were assembled by faculty. Your march was heralded by the SMU Trumpet Ensemble. You were led by Peruna, living symbol of the University. You marched through Dallas Hall, our oldest building. You were guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent the lifetime connection to SMU, a connection which you now share.

At the conclusion of Convocation we will lower the historic Ovilla Curtain to signify the completion of your initiation. Here is the story of that curtain. During the 1830's, the parents of Robert McFarlin, for whom this auditorium was named, lived in Ovilla, Texas. There was no Methodist church in the area; instead, the Methodists were served by a circuit rider. The McFarlins gave the circuit rider the land and money to build the Ovilla Methodist Church, pictured on the curtain, which Robert McFarlin attended.

Upon your graduation you will leave McFarlin Auditorium in the Rotunda Recessional, marching back through Dallas Hall, again led by alumni, alumni whose ranks you will join the next day following Commencement.



The *Rotunda Passage*, which students walk when they first enter SMU, and the *Rotunda Recessional*, their final walk taken the evening before May graduation, recognize the importance of Dallas Hall to our campus life. Dallas Hall is the oldest building on our campus. In 1915 when classes began, it housed all of the academic and administrative functions of the University. It is pictured on SMU's seal. And just as Dallas Hall is central to SMU, the rotunda is at the very center of Dallas Hall. Thomas Jefferson's rotunda at the University of Virginia stands alone. Our rotunda is the centerpiece of a magnificent three-story building that stands on the highest spot, or "hilltop," of the land given by the citizens of Dallas to attract SMU to this city. It is fitting that Dallas Hall is named in honor of the generosity and vision of those citizens. It is appropriate one becomes part of the SMU community by marching through it to Opening Convocation.

Southern Methodist University will not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, or veteran status. SMU's commitment to equal opportunity includes nondiscrimination on the basis of sexual orientation.



NINETY-FIFTH ANNUAL OPENING CONVOCATION

SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

TUESDAY EVENING
THE TWENTY- FIFTH OF AUGUST
TWO THOUSAND AND NINE
AT HALF PAST FIVE O'CLOCK
MCFARLIN MEMORIAL AUDITORIUM

CARILLON CONCERT AND CALL TO CONVOCATION

Lorn L. Howard, *Chief Marshal* Emeritus, *Carilloner* Fondren Science Tower, 5:00 p.m.

John Gibson, Creative Director of University Events and Special Projects

CONVOCATION PROGRAM

THE PROCESSIONAL The Imperial Brass

INVOCATION Stephen Rankin

Chaplain to the University

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS Paul W. Ludden

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING STUDENTS OF 2009 Lori S. White

Vice President for Student Affairs

CHARGE TO THE ENTERING STUDENTS OF 2009 President R. Gerald Turner

REMARKS Frederick I. Olness

President of the Faculty Senate and Professor of Physics

SPECIAL MUSIC Meadows Convocation Chorus

Let All the World in Every Corner Sing Ralph Vaughan Williams

PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER R. Gerald Turner

President of the University

ADDRESS

Linking Scholarship, Leadership, and Service - The Challenge in Academia Jeffrey Talley

Chair of the Department of Environmental and Civil Engineering

and Bobby B. Lyle Professor of Leadership and Global Entrepreneurship

REMARKS Caren H. Prothro

Trustee of the University

Patrick Thomas Kobler President of the Students' Association UNIVERSITY HYMN Meadows Convocation Chorus

Varsity

Oh we see the Varsity,
Varsity, Varsity,
As she towers o'er the hill
Over there.
And our hearts are filled with joy,
SMU, SMU,
Alma Mater, we'll be true

Forever!

BENEDICTION Chaplain Stephen Rankin

THE RECESSIONAL The Imperial Brass

THE CONVOCATION PROCESSION

THE PLATFORM PARTY

John B. Attanasio, *Dean of the Dedman School of Law* José Antonio Bowen, *Dean of Meadows School of the Arts*

David J. Chard, Dean of the Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Pamela Elrod, Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities

Patrick Thomas Kobler, President of the Students' Association

William B. Lawrence, Dean of Perkins School of Theology

Paul W. Ludden, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Gillian M. McCombs, Dean and Director of Central University Libraries

Peter Moore, Dean ad interim of Dedman College

Albert W. Niemi, Jr., Dean of Edwin L. Cox School of Business

Fredrick I. Olness, President of the Faculty Senate and Professor of Physics

Geoffrey C. Orsak, Dean of the School of Engineering

Caren H. Prothro, Trustee of the University

James E. Quick, Dean of Research and Graduate Studies and Associate Vice President for Research

Stephen Rankin, Chaplain to the University

R. Gerald Turner, President of the University

Jeffrey Talley, Chair of the Department of Environmental and Civil Engineering

and Bobby B. Lyle Professor of Leadership and Global Entrepreneurship

Alison Tweedy, President of the Staff Association

Lori S.White, Vice President for Student Affairs

UNIVERSITY MARSHALS

Thomas B. Fomby, *Chief Marshal*Bradley Kent Carter, *Chief Marshal* Emeritus
Wayne Woodward, *Procession Marshal*Kenneth Hamilton, *Assisting Procession Marshal*Joseph Kobylka, *Marshal Announcer*

ASSISTING MARSHALS

Nathan Balke, Marshal for Entering Students Christine Buchanan, Marshal for Transfer Students John Buynak, Marshal for Flag Bearers Edward Fox, Marshal for Entering Students Jeremy Du Quesnay Adams, Marshal for Phi Beta Kappa Barbara Hill Moore, Marshal for the Corporate Officers of the University

Benjamin H. Johnson, Marshal for Faculties of the University Jeffery L. Kennington, Marshal for Entering Students William J. Pulte, Marshal for Entering Students Dennis M. Simon, Marshal for the Platform Party Monnie McGee, Marshal for Faculties of the University Mary Vernon, Marshal for Alumni Marshals