Give Now

Tau Sigma National Honor Society

Dallas Hall

Honorary Members

R. Gerald Turner, President of SMU

A native of New Boston, Texas, President Turner transferred to Abilene Christian University and earned a B.S. degree in psychology. He later earned his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in psychology from The University of Texas at Austin. Before joining SMU in 1995, President Turner was the chancellor of University of Mississippi and served in administrative and teaching positions at the University of Oklahoma and Pepperdine University.

Jeanne L. Phillips, Member of SMU’s Board of Trustees

The honorable Jeanne L. Phillips transferred to SMU and earned a bachelor’s degree from the university in 1976. She served as United States Representative to the Paris-based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development from 2001 to 2003. Ambassador Phillips currently is Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs and International Relations at Hunt Oil Company. Phillips sits on the Board of Trustees at SMU.

Stephanie Dupaul, Associate Provost

Dr. Stephanie Dupaul was SMU’s Associate Provost from 2011-2015. Previously, she served as SMU’s Interim Dean of Admission and Cox’s director of undergraduate admissions. Before coming to SMU, she worked as an advisor at Dallas County Community College District’s Brookhaven College, preparing students for transfer to 4-year institutions. She currently is Vice President for Enrollment Management at University of Richmond.

Vicki Hill, Assistant Dean for the University Curriculum and Adjunct Lecturer, Department of English

Serving in many roles during her almost 30 years at SMU, Dr. Vicki Hill is the Assistant Dean for the University Curriculum and previously led the Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center. As an undergraduate, she transferred to University of California, Berkeley. She knows first-hand the challenges faced by transfers.

Candy Crespo, Assistant Director of the Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility

Ms. Crespo is the assistant director of SMU’s Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility and lecturer at the Center for Nonprofit Management. She also serves on the Veterans Advisory Board. Ms. Crespo transferred to SMU from Dallas County Community College District’s Richland College, and now holds both a bachelor’s and two master’s degrees from SMU.

Dr. Christine Buchanan

Dr. Christine Buchanan retired from SMU in 2015 after nearly four decades of service as a professor of biological sciences. She was named Professor Emeritus upon her retirement. Dr. Buchanan received the Outstanding Faculty Award and was one of three initial winners of the Thomas W. Tunks Distinguished University Citizen Award for long-standing service to SMU. Among her many contributions to the university, Dr. Buchanan worked tirelessly to insure transfer students had a smooth transition to SMU.

Dr. Steve Currall, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Provost Currall joined SMU in January 2016. As the University’s chief academic officer, Provost Currall oversees all aspects of academic life, ranging from admissions and faculty development to supervision of SMU’s seven schools, library system, and international programs. He is responsible for the Office of Research and Graduate Studies, Central University Libraries, satellite Campuses in Plano, Texas and at Taos, New Mexico, the Office of Assessment and Accreditation, the Office of Institutional Research, the International Center, the Center for Teaching Excellence and the Division of Enrollment Services, and several student programs such as the SMU honors groups. He is the David B. Miller Endowed Professor. He also holds academic appointments as Professor of Management and Organization in the Cox School of Business and is Adjunct Professor of Psychology in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences and Adjunct Professor of Engineering Management, Information, and Systems in the Lyle School of Engineering.