Programs in Anthropology

Anthropology is divided into four subfields:

  1. Archaeology
  2. Cultural/social anthropology
  3. Anthropological linguistics
  4. Biological Anthropology

In addition to providing the basis for careers in the sub-disciplines, anthropology provides a background for professional careers in teaching, research, international affairs, medicine, business, or law. The department offers both a B.A. and a B.S. degree for undergraduates and minors specializing in General Anthropology, Cultural Anthropology, Bio-medical Anthropology, and Archaeology.

SMU's Department of Anthropology also offers two graduate degree programs: the M.A. in Medical Anthropology and the Ph.D. in Anthropology. The Ph.D. program offers specialization in Archaeology and Cultural Anthropology with concentrations in Medical Anthropology and Globalization and International Development.