University Honors Program

Advisory Council

Established in 2003, the University Honors Advisory Council brings a group of faculty, students, and staff together in order to make decisions regarding the current operation and future goals of the University Honors Program.  By proposing both short and long term ideas, the Council helps to inspire continuing change and growth within the program, as well as solidify the UHP’s strengths with reaffirmed commitment.

Director and Assistant Director of the UHP, Faculty members, Advisors, and students from each of the 3 classes beyond the first year, and from majors across campus comprise the Council.  Elections are held for open student seats each spring; any current student in the UHP is eligible to run for the Council. 

The 2018-2019 Advisory Council Members are:


Dr. Joe Kobylka Emeritus and founding member
Dr. Rachel Ball-Phillips Director, Office of National Fellowships and Scholarships for Undergraduates
Professor, Clements Department of History 
Dr. Ann Batenburg Professor, Simmons School of Education & Human Development
Faculty-in-Residence, Virginia-Snider Commons
Dr. David D. Doyle, Jr. Director, UHP 
Professor, Clements Department of History
Dr. Susan Harris Honors Advisor
Professor, Department of Psychology
Ms. Pamela McNulty Director, Office of Pre-Health Advising
Dr. Brandon Gray Miller Assistant Director, UHP
Professor, Clements Department of History
Dr. Scott Norris Professor, Department of Mathematics
Dr. Timothy Rosendale Professor, Department of English
Director, Honors DISC courses
Meredith Burke Student member: Senior, Mechanical Engineering; Mathematics; Fine Arts
Karen Guan Student member: Junior, Finance; Public Policy
Brittany Hatmaker Student member: Junior, Finance
Jonathan Lindbloom Student member: Sophomore, Mathematics; Finance
Graham McGee Student member: Sophomore, Finance
Alec Mason Student member: Junior, Chemistry
Lorien Melnick Student member: Junior, English with Creative Writing Specialization
Lamisa Mustafa Student member: Sophomore, Human Rights; Sociology; Public Policy
Micah Oxner Student member: Junior, Mechanical Engineering; Mathematics
Aarthi Parvathaneni Student member: Junior, Human Rights; Biology
Bradley Potts Student member: Senior, Political Science; Business Management
Caroline Slay Student member: Sophomore, English; Psychology
Peter Wetherbee Student member: Sophomore, Finance; Human Rights
Katherine Wright Student member: Sophomore, Biology; Health and Society