Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Haberman, Richard     rhaberma@smu.edu       214-768-2519 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Research Interests: Nonlinear Wave Motion, Mathematical Model Shocks, Fluid Dynamics, Solitonstraffic Flow, Dispersive Waves, Reaction Diffusion, Multiphase Waves, Nonlinear Optics, Caustics, Hydrodynamic Stability, Critical Layers
Hagstrom, Thomas M.     thagstrom@smu.edu       214-768-4338 Website

Professor

Ph.D., California Institute of Technology

Hall, Shirley Alane     alaneh@smu.edu       214-768-2954 Website

Adjunct

Hall, Stephanie     stephanie@smu.edu       214-768-2694

Graduate Advisor

Halperin, Rick     rhalperi@smu.edu       214-768-3284

Adjunct Lecturer

Professor of the Practice of Human Rights

Director of the Human Rights Education Program

Auburn University, Alabama

Research Interests: Human Rights, Antebellum U.S. South
Hamilton, Andrea     andreah@smu.edu       214-768-3808

Adjunct Lecturer

Tulane University

Hamilton, Kenneth M.     kmarvin@smu.edu       214-768-3598 Website

Associate Professor

Director of Ethnic Studies

Ph.D., Washington University

Research Interests: , 19th Century United States, African American
Hampson, Robert B.     rhampson@smu.edu       214-768-2734 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Research Interests: Family Assessment, Family Functioning, Therapy Effectiveness, Interventions, Beaver Systems Model, Couple and Family Therapy, Obese Adolescents, Special Needs Families
Harding, Rickey     rharding@smu.edu       214-768-4537

Information Technologist

Harris, Ian Richard     iharris@smu.edu       214-768-2454 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Birmingham, U.K.

Research Interests: Robust Estimation, Minimum Divergence Methods, Nonparametric Methods, Variance Components, Mixed Models
Harrod, Carolyn     charrod@smu.edu       214-768-1658 Website

Laboratory Coordinator and Instructor

Harrod, Robert L.     rharrod@smu.edu       214-768-3864 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Maryland

Research Interests: Human Retroviruses, Viral Carcinogenesis, Tumor Biology, Transcriptional Gene Regulation
Harvell, Marta K.     mharvell@smu.edu       214-768-3952 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of North Texas

Havens, Cindy     chavens@smu.edu       214-768-3212

Assistant to the Dean

University of North Texas

Hawkins, Richard O.     rhawkins@smu.edu       214-768-2913 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Washington

Research Interests: Crime, Delinquency, Correctional Systems, Sociological Theory, Administration of Justice, Deviant Behavior, Social Change
Hayes, Kathy J.     khayes@smu.edu       214-768-4027 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Syracuse University

Research Interests: Public Economics, Urban and Regional Economics, Applied Microeconomics
Haynes, David     dhaynes@smu.edu       214-768-3561 Website

Associate Professor

M.A., Hamline University

Research Interests: Class, Gender, Race, Generation Differences
Hayward, Chris     hayward@smu.edu       214-768-3031

Director of Geophysics Research

Heape, Tiffany     theape@smu.edu

Degree Counselor

M.Ed., Texas A & M University

Herod, Diana (Jill)     jherod@smu.edu       214-768-2760

Assistant Director

Hiltz, Steve     shiltz@smu.edu       214-768-4027 Website

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas

Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Wittgenstein, Philosophy of Language
Hochman, Erin     ehochman@smu.edu       214-768-3971 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Toronto

Hodge, Nancy     nhodge@smu.edu Website
Adjunct


Hogan, Pamela     phogan@smu.edu       214-768-4152 Website

Administrative Assistant II

B.A., Southern Methodist University

Holahan, Michael N.     mholahan@smu.edu       214-768-2872 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: English Renaissance, Shakespeare, Classical Literature
Holden, George W.     gholden@smu.edu       214-768-4696 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Research Interests: Family Violence, Family Functioning, Parent/Child Relationships, Parental Social Cognition, Parental Attitudes, Physical Punishment, Parental Behavior
Hollenback, Kacy     khollenback@smu.edu       214-768-2943 Website

Professor in Practice

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Hollifield , James F.     jhollifi@smu.edu       214-768-2825 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

Research Interests: Immigration, Migration, France, Europe
Hopkins, James K.     hopkins@smu.edu       214-768-2977 Website

Professor

Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: European Social, Modern Britain
Hopkins, Janet     jhopkins@smu.edu       214-768-1272

Career Counselor

Texas A&M Commerce

Hopper, Vanessa     vhopper@smu.edu       214-768-2962 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University Rice University Publishing Program

Hornbach, Matt           214-768-5030 Website

Associate Professor

P.h.D University of Wyoming

Hornbostel, Kent J.     khornbos@smu.edu       214-768-1048 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Stanford University

Research Interests: High Energy Physics, Quantum Chromodynamics, Lattice Gauge Theory, Light Cone Quantization
Hornstein, Susan L.     susanh@smu.edu       214-768-2161 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., Southern Methodist University

Horsthemke, Werner     whorsthe@smu.edu       214-768-4241 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Universite Libre de Bruxelle, Belgium

Howard, Diana Kay     dkhoward@smu.edu       214-768-2956 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Howell, Robert J.     rhowell@smu.edu       214-768-3063 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Rational Choice, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Subjectivity, Subjective Physicalism
Hoy, Eileen     ehoy@smu.ed       214-768-3415

Advisor

University of Louisiana at Monroe

Hughes, Crystal     cshughes@smu.edu       214-768-2716

Assistant Financial Officer

Humason, Alan     ahumason@smu.edu       214-768-3541 Website

Lab Coordinator, Lecturer

P.h.D Southern Methodist University (Matriculation 2015)