Faculty and Staff


This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within Psychology

Baldwin, Austin S.     baldwin@smu.edu       214-768-1027 Website

Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Brown, Alan S.     abrown@smu.edu       214-768-3420 Website

Department of Psychology, Professor

Department of Sociology, Department Chair

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Calvert, James           214-768-3519 Website
Visiting Lecturer 

Ph.D., Louisiana State University

Chmielewski, Michael     mchmielewski@smu.edu       214-768-3493 Website

Assistant Professor

Conner, Ann     aconner@smu.edu       214-768-4924 Website

Administrative Assistant

Crow, Michael     dcrow@smu.edu       214-768-4768 Website

Senior Lecturer

Hampson, Robert B.     rhampson@smu.edu       214-768-2734 Website

Associate Professor and Graduate Programs Director

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Holden, George W.     gholden@smu.edu       214-768-4696 Website

Professor and Undergraduate Director

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Research Interests: Family Violence, Family Functioning, Parent/Child Relationships, Parental Social Cognition, Parental Attitudes, Physical Punishment, Parental Behavior
Hornstein, Susan L.     susanh@smu.edu       214-768-1874 Website


Ph.D., Southern Methodist University

Jouriles, Ernest N.     ejourile@smu.edu       214-768-2360 Website

Professor and Chair

Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook

Research Interests: Marital Conflict, Interventions, Family Violence, Interparent Violence, Relationship Violence
Kamata, Akihito     akamata@smu.edu       214-768-7708 Website


Kouros, Chrystyna     ckouros@smu.edu       214-768-2655 Website

Assistant Professor 

Levy, Nicole     nlevy@smu.edu       214-768-4125 Website

Research Associate, Family Research Center

Logan, Chris R.     chrisl@smu.edu       214-768-4385 Website

Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor

Ph.D., Texas Tech University

McDonald, Renee     rmcdonal@mail.smu.edu       (214) 768-1128 Website
Associate Dean for Research and Academic Affairs

Ph.D., University of Houston

Research Interests: Child Adjustment Problems, Antisocial Behavior, Family Conflict, Family Violence, Interventions, Interparent Conflict, Aggression
Meltzer, Andrea     ameltzer@smu.edu       214-768-3424 Website

Assistant Professor

Meuret, Alicia E.     ameuret@smu.edu       214-768-3422 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Hamburg

Research Interests: Disorder Specific Mechanisms, Panic Disorder, Anxiety Disorders, Novel Interventions, Psychotherapy, Interventions, Differential Symptom Production
Ritz, Thomas     tritz@smu.edu       214-768-3724 Website


Dr.Phil., University of Hamburg

Rosenfield, David     drosenfi@smu.edu       214-768-1135 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas

Simpson Rowe, Lorelei     lsimpson@smu.edu       214-768-2395 Website
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Co-Director

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Soutter, Cathey           214-768-4795 Website
Adjunct Lecturer
Westfall, Mary     westfall@smu.edu       214-768-2438 Website
Department Administrative Assistant