Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within Philosophy

Barnes, Eric C.     ebarnes@smu.edu       214-768-2118 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Indiana University

Research Interests: Philosophy of Science, Scientific Explanation, Confirmation Theory, Realist/Anti-Realist Debate, Predictivism, Nature of Scientific Progress, Ethics
Chuard, Philippe     pchuard@smu.edu       214-768-2705 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Australian National University

Research Interests: Philosophy of Perception, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Perceptual Content
Daley, Kenneth     kdaley@smu.edu       214-768-2160 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Nature of Concepts, Theory of Concepts, Mental Representation, Propositional Attitudes
Ehring, Douglas E.     dehring@smu.edu       214-768-2137 Website

Professor, William Edward Easterwood Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Decision Theory, Personal Identity, Object Persistence, Political Philosophy, Causation
Fisher, Justin C.     fisher@smu.edu       214-768-1754 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Decision Theory
Gollop, Soraya     sgollop@smu.edu       214-768-2120 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Rational Choice
Hiltz, Steve     shiltz@smu.edu       214-768-4027 Website

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas

Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Wittgenstein, Philosophy of Language
Howell, Robert J.     rhowell@smu.edu       214-768-3063 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Rational Choice, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Subjectivity, Subjective Physicalism
Kazez, Jean     jkazez@smu.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor

University of Arizona

Research Interests: Ethics, Animal Rights, Mind and Language
Lamb, James     jimlamb@ebby.com       214-768-6682

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Brown University

Research Interests: Applied Logic, Epistemology, Free Will, Determinism
Lockard, Matthew     mlockard@smu.edu       214-768-4620 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, History of Modern Philosophy, Metaethics, Normative Ethics, Moral Metaphysics, Moral Epistemology
Popovic, Nenad     apopovic@smu.edu       214-768-4867 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Miami

Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Education, Logic, Invariantist, Liar Paradox
Robinson, Luke     lrobinson@smu.edu       214-768-4399 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California at San Diego

Research Interests: Ethics, Metaethics, Normative Ethics
Stewart, Charee     charees@smu.edu       214-768-2118

Administrative Assistant

Sverdilk, Steven D.     sverdlik@smu.edu       214-768-3364 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Ethics, Action Theory, Moral Psychology, Deontic Significance of Motives, Moral Theories
Thompson, Brad     bthompso@smu.edu       214-768-2119 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Perception, Cognitive Science, Consciousness, Phenomenal Character, Perceptual Experiences, Representationalism