Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within Foreign Languages & Literatures

Aaron, Gwendoline     gaaron@smu.edu       214-768-3989 Website

Lecturer

Licen., Universite de Liege

Research Interests: French, Language Education,
Alvarez, Brandy Lynn     balvarez@smu.edu       214-768-1892

Lecturer

M.A., Yale University

Research Interests: Italian
Bansal, Manju     mbansal@mail.smu.edu


Kanpur University - India

Research Interests: Hindu
Beauchamp, William E.     bbeaucha@smu.edu       214-768-2212 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: 19th Century French Literature, 20th Century French Literature, French Stylistics, Literary and Social Semiotics, Francophone Writers, LGBT Literature and Theory, Cultural Studies, Media Studies, Francophone Literature, Semiotics, Critical Theory
Bettaver, Denis     bettaver@smu.edu       214-768-2818 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of Texas at Arlington

Research Interests: French, Business French, Theater, Study Abroad
Birrell, Gordon E.     gbirrell@smu.edu       214-768-2216 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Stanford University

Bonuomo, Damiano     bonuomo@smu.edu       214-768-3963 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of Florida, Gainesville

Research Interests: French
Brentegani, Teresa     tbrenteg@smu.edu       214-768-1417 Website

Lecturer

B.A., University of Milan

Research Interests: Italian
Buckley, Paola     pbuckley@smu.edu       214-768-1960 Website

Lecturer

M.A., New York University

Research Interests: French, Second Language Acquisition, Applied Languages, Translation, Interpretation, Business French
Bunch, John     jbunch@smu.edu


Colbert, Olga     olvalero@smu.edu       214-768-4206 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Stanford University

Research Interests: Spanish
De La Fuente, Ricardo     dfuente@smu.edu       214-768-2674


Universidad de Valladolid

Detcheva, Miroslava     mdetcheva@smu.edu       214-768-2316 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Baylor University

Research Interests: Spanish, Latin America, Culture
DuPont, Denise     ddupont@smu.edu       214-768-2674 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: Spanish
Eguez, Maria Renata     reguez@smu.edu       214-768-2289 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D, University of Maryland

Research Interests: Spanish, 20th Century Latin American Literature, Literature, Cinema
Elverskog, Liljana     liljana@smu.edu

Lecturer

Ph.D., Indiana University

Garland, Debbie     dgarland@smu.edu       214-768-1406

Administrative Assistant

Gattens, Marie-Luise     mgaetten@smu.edu       214-768-1406 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: German
Gonzalez-Boles, Cristina     cgboles@mail.smu.edu


Texas A&M University

Research Interests: Spanish
Kincaid, Martine     mkincaid@smu.edu       214-768-1236 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati

Research Interests: French, French Culture, French Literature, 20th Century French Literature, Contemporary Literature
Koski, Linda     lkoski@smu.edu       214-768-2746 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., Stanford University

Leon, Veronica G.     vleon@smu.edu       214-768-1410 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Spanish
Maldonado-Pena, Luis J.     lmaldona@smu.edu       214-768-1412 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Georgetown University

Research Interests: Spanish
McDoniel, Leticia     mcdoniel@smu.edu       214-768-1419
Lecturer 


Ph.D., Washington University-St. Louis

Min, Jian     jmin@smu.edu       214-768-2089
Visiting Lecturer 


M.A., Beijing Normal University

Morán, Francisco     fmoran@smu.edu       214-768-3714 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Georgetown University

Research Interests: Spanish, Latin America, Literature, Cultural Studies, Gender
Moron-Nozaleda, Angie     nozaleda@smu.edu       214-768-1941 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Research Interests: Spanish
Nelson, Mary E.     bnelson@smu.edu       214-768-2358 Website

Senior Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Research Interests: Spanish
Oscherwitz, Dayna L.     oscherwi@smu.edu       214-768-4355 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: French, Cinema, Post-Colonial, Immigration
Pastor, Alberto     ampastor@smu.edu       214-768-1414 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Universidad Autonoma de Madrid

Research Interests: Spanish
Patel-Prestigiacomo, Maria     mpatel@smu.edu


Pelletier, Heather     heatherp@mail.smu.edu       214-768-1409


Vanderbilt University

Research Interests: French, 20th Century French Literature
Pflum, Elise     eapflum@smu.edu       214-768-2177

Director

Ph.D., University of Texas

Polanco, Luis J.     lpolanco@smu.edu       214-768-1409 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of North Texas

Research Interests: Spanish
Rawlins, Patricia     prawlins@smu.edu


University of Texas

Research Interests: Latin
Rojas-Auda, Elizabeth     erojasau@smu.edu       214-768-2316 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Research Interests: Modern Spanish Peninsula Literature, Spanish Culture, Feminist Literary Criticism, Gender
Russ, Elizabeth C.     eruss@smu.edu       214-768-2224 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Spanish
Sanchez-Garcia, Milagros     milsanc@smu.edu       214-768-2289 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Colorado State University

Sanchez-Godoy, Ruben     rgodoy@smu.edu       214-768-1418
Assistant Professor


Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Sanchez, Rosemary     rsanchez@smu.edu       214-768-1405

Administrative Assistant

Schneider, Keiko K.     kschneid@smu.edu       214-768-3143 Website

Lecturer

M.A., School for International Training

Research Interests: Japanese
Shi, Yun     yshi@smu.edu       214-768-3927
Visiting Lecturer 


M.A., Nankai University

Solera-Adoboe, Susana     adoboe@smu.edu Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Tchumkam, Herve     htchumkam@smu.edu Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Research Interests: French
Tongate, Vicki     vtongate@smu.edu       214-768-4521 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Vokic, Gabriela     vokic@smu.edu       214-768-3107 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Purdue University

Research Interests: Spanish
Wiegman, Daniel     dwiegman@smu.edu       214-768-1420 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of the Americas

Winandy, Rita A.     rwinandy@smu.edu       214-768-1423 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Research Interests: French, French Culture, French Literature
Xia, Yan     yxia@smu.edu       214-768-1424 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Beijing Language and Culture University

Zhang, Xiaoshen     zhangx@smu.edu       214-768-1406 Website

Lecturer

M.A., National Taiwan Normal University

Research Interests: Chinese Society, Chinese
Zimakova, Tatiana     tzimakov@smu.edu


Moscow University

Research Interests: Russia
Zuese, Alicia Rose     zuese@smu.edu       214-768-3164

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Spanish