Robert Mayer Undergraduate Research Fellows

Each academic year, DCII sponsors six undergraduate Robert Mayer Undergraduate Research Fellows. These students have a double major or a major and minor(s), and at least one of these majors/minors must be in Dedman College. With two faculty mentors, each Mayer Fellow conducts a substantial research project that combines and integrates the perspectives of his/her major(s)/minor(s). Mayer Fellows have access to funds to use for research travel or for other expenses related to the development and completion of their research project. Each Mayer Fellow is required to produce a substantial research paper and to present his/her findings in a public forum to which all fellows, faculty mentors and other members of the SMU community are invited.

The DCII is now soliciting applications for 2017-2018 Mayer Fellows. To apply, please review instructions here.

The Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute is pleased to announce the following Robert Mayer Undergraduate Research Fellows for the 2016-2017 Academic Year

Hope Anderson

Humanitarian Power in Displaced Communities: Non Governmental Organizations and Forced Migration
Mentors: Brad Klein, Human Rights and Alicia Schortgen (Sociology)

Kayla Graves

A Compartative Study of Declining Steel Towns
Mentors: Lucas Kirkpatrick, Sociology and Erin Hochman, History

Antony Jacob Jeffries

Enhancing the U.S.-Mexico Renewable Electricity Trade
Mentors: Victoria Farrar-Myers, Poly science and Thomas Osang, Economics

Arya McCarthy

Coming Together, Mathematically: Dynamical Models for Increased Uniformity and Polarization in American Politics
Mentors: Scott Morris, Mathematics and Matthew Wilson, Poly science 

John Barron Wiener

History, Evolution and the Implications of the Chattanooga Bible Course (1922-Present)
Mentors:Mark Chancey, Religious Studies and Kate Engel, History

To see previous year's Mayer Fellows, click here.