Research Clusters

Research Clusters

2017-2018:

"New Feminist Discourses and Social Change
Conveners: Crista deLuzio, History; Susann Scholz, Theology; Bonnie Wheeler, English

"Preparing for the Second Century of Historical Inquiry about the Hilltop"
Conveners: Ashley Tull, Simmons School of Education and Human Development; Joan Gosnell, University Archivist, Central University Libraries; Timothy Binkley, Archivist, Bridwell Library, Perkins School of Theology

"On Decolonial Options and the Writing of Latin American History"
Conveners: Francisco Moran, World Languages; Asiel Sepulveda, PhD. Candidate in Art History; Alice Hereen, Phd. Student in Art History; Claudia Zapata, Phd. Candidate in Art Histroy; Beatriz Balanta, Art History; Grace Vargas, Phd. student in Religious Studies; Angel Gallardo, Phd. Candidate in Religious Studies; Gage Peer, M.F.A. Student in Art

Telling our Stories: Women of Color and the Power of Narratives” 
Conveners: Karen Thomas, SMU Meadows School of the Arts; Candice Bledsoe, SMU Simmons School of Education

"Computer-Assisted Mnemonics for Learning Enhancement"
Teresa Brentegani, World Languages and Literatures; Pavel Klimovich, Computer Science and Engineering

Interdisciplinary Museums and Heritage Initiatives at SMU” 
Conveners: B. Sunday Eiselt, Department of Anthropology, Michael Adler, SMU-in-Taos, Andrew Graybill, History Department and Clements Center for Southwest Studies, Christopher Roos, Department of Anthropology

 “The FDR-MLK Jr. 'Economic Bill of Rights'” 
Conveners: Theodore Walker, Perkins School of Theology; Steve Long, Perkins School of Theology; Justin Barringer, Religious Studies

"Native American and Indigenous Studies at SMU"
Conveners: Kacy Hollenback, Anthropology; Mike Adler, Anthropology; Neil Foley, History

The following 2017-2018 Research Clusters were continued through 2016-2017.

"Medieval Matters"
Conveners: Bonnie Wheeler, English; Shira Lander, Religious Studies/Director of Jewish Studies; Danielle Joyner, Art History, Meadows

GIS at SMU”  
Conveners: Klaus Desmet, Economics; Mark McCoy, Anthropology; Jessie Zarazaga, Lyle School of Engineering 

Biopsychosocial Research Cluster”  
Conveners: Thomas Ritz (tritz@smu.edu) and Pia Vogel (pvogel@smu.edu)

"Cognitive Science"
Conveners: Justin Fisher (fisher@smu.edu) and Alan Brown (abrown@smu.edu)

Thinking Digitally: Understanding the Data in Humanities Disciplines”  
Conveners: Dennis Foster (dfoster@smu.edu) and Kate Engel (kengel@smu.edu)

"Mapping Human Rights Sites in Dallas"
Dr. Rick Halperin, Director, Embrey Human Rights Program; Edward Gray, DLS candidate, Simmons School; Jennifer McNabb, DLS candidate, Simmons School 

"Creative Intersections in Interdisciplinary Education: Making Connections among Various Sectors of Creativity Research
M. Carmen Smith, Director of education, meadows Museum; Ige Guobadia, DLS candidate, Simmons School; Gina Weber, DLS candidate, Simmons School 


2016-2017:

"Life Challenges and Human Resilience
Conveners: Nia Parson, Anthropology; Lorelei Rowe, Psychology; Maria del Pilar Melgarejo, World Languages 
 
"Medieval Matters"
Conveners: Bonnie Wheeler, English; Shira Lander, Religious Studies/Director of Jewish Studies; Danielle Joyner, Art History, Meadows
 
"Looking at Animals/Thinking About Animals"
Conveners: Amy Freund, Art History, Meadows; Jean Kazez, Philosophy 

"Operations Research and Statistics Towards Integrated Analytics "
Conveners: Tony Ng, Statistical Science; Halit Uster, Lyle School of Engineering, EMIS; 

"Mapping Human Rights Sites in Dallas"
Dr. Rick Halperin, Director, Embrey Human Rights Program; Edward Gray, DLS candidate, Simmons School; Jennifer McNabb, DLS candidate, Simmons School 

"Creative Intersections in Interdisciplinary Education: Making Connections among Various Sectors of Creativity Research
M. Carmen Smith, Director of education, meadows Museum; Ige Guobadia, DLS candidate, Simmons School; Gina Weber, DLS candidate, Simmons School 

The following 2015-2016 Research Clusters were continued through 2016-2017.

GIS at SMU”  
Conveners: Klaus Desmet, Economics; Mark McCoy, Anthropology; Jessie Zarazaga, Lyle School of Engineering 
  
Ancient Biomolecules” 
Conveners: Louis Jacobs, Earth Sciences; Ann Horsburgh, Anthropology; John Wise, Biological Sciences
 
Interdisciplinary Approaches to Inebriation, Addiction and Recovery Literature” 
Conveners: Bruce Levy, English 

Linking Mathematical and Life Sciences” 
Conveners: Andrea Barreiro (abarreiro@smu.edu) and Brandy Stigler (bstigler@smu.edu)

Biopsychosocial Research Cluster”  
Conveners: Thomas Ritz (tritz@smu.edu) and Pia Vogel (pvogel@smu.edu)

"Cognitive Science"
Conveners: Justin Fisher (fisher@smu.edu) and Alan Brown (abrown@smu.edu)

"Post Secularism"
Conveners: Beth Newman (bnewman@smu.edu) and Denise DuPont (ddupont@smu.edu)

Digital Humanities”  
Conveners: Dennis Foster (dfoster@smu.edu) and Kate Engel (kengel@smu.edu)

 

2015-2016:

"GIS at SMU
Conveners: Klaus Desmet ( kdesmet@smu.edu), Mark McCoy (mdmccoy@smu.edu), and Jessie Zarazaga (jzarazaga@smu.edu)
 
"Ancient Biomolecules"
Conveners: Louis Jacobs (jacobs@smu.edu) and Pia Vogel (pvogel@smu.edu)
 
"Cognitive Science"
Conveners: Justin Fisher (fisher@smu.edu) and Alan Brown (abrown@smu.edu)

"Post Secularism"
Conveners: Beth Newman (bnewman@smu.edu) and Denise DuPont (ddupont@smu.edu)

The following 2014-2015 Research Clusters were continued through 2015-2016.

Digital Humanities”  
Conveners: Dennis Foster (dfoster@smu.edu) and Kate Engel (kengel@smu.edu)
  
Interdisciplinary Approaches to Inebriation, Addition, and Recover Literature” 
Conveners: Bruce Levy (blevy@smu.edu)
 
Global Health Services Cluster” 
Conveners: Eric Bing (ebing@smu.edu) and Suku Nair (nair@smu.edu) 

Linking Mathematical and Life Sciences” 
Conveners: Andrea Barreiro (abarreiro@smu.edu) and Brandy Stigler (bstigler@smu.edu)

Biopsychosocial Research Cluster”  
Conveners: Thomas Ritz (tritz@smu.edu) and Pia Vogel (pvogel@smu.edu) 



2014-2015:

"Institutional Graffiti: Subversion and Complicity in Public Writing
Conveners: Lauren Richman (lrichman@smu.edu) and Seth McKelvey (rmckelvey@smu.edu)
 
"Jewish Studies"
Conveners: Shira Lander (slander@smu.edu) and Elena Gittleman (egittleman@smu.edu) 
 
"Digital Humanities"
Conveners: Dennis Foster (dfoster@smu.edu) and Kate Engel (kengel@smu.edu) 
 

The following 2013-2014 Research Clusters were continued through 2014-2015.

Interdisciplinary Approaches to Inebriation, Addiction and Recovery Literature” 
Convener: Bruce Levy
  
Thinking with Affect: New Approaches to the Body, Emotions, and Politics
Conveners: Beatriz Balanta and Shilyh Warren
 
Global Health Services Cluster
Convener: Eric Bing 

Linking Mathematical and Life Sciences
Conveners: Andrea Barreiro and Brandy Stigler 

Biopsychosocial Research Cluster” 
Conveners: Thomas Rotz and Pia Vogel

 

2013-2014:

Biopsychosocial Research Cluster” 
Conveners: Thomas Rotz and Pia Vogel

Linking Mathematical and Life Sciences
Conveners: Andrea Barreiro and Brandy Stigler

Thinking with Affect: New Approaches to the Body, Emotions, and Politics
Conveners: Beatriz Balanta and Shilyh Warren

Interdisciplinary Approaches to Inebriation, Addiction and Recovery Literature” 
Convener: Bruce Levy

Global Health Services Cluster
Convener: Eric Bing

Removing our Blind Spots at the Intersections of Thought in a Global Society
Conveners: Nayelly Dominguez and Chase Harker


2012-2013:

Futures for Humanistic Learning” 
Convener: Tim Cassedy, Department of English

Reframing African
Convener: Dayna Oscherwitz, Department of World Languages 

The 'World' in University Education
Convener: Steven Lindquist, Department of Religious Studies