Merit Scholarships

The Department of Mathematics offers merit (partial tuition) scholarships for students with an outstanding record in mathematics and an interest in pursuing a mathematics major. The Carrie and Edwin Mouzon Mathematics Scholarships are given to incoming first year students that have an excellent mathematics background and an interest and potential in mathematics. This scholarship was established in honor of Dr. Edwin Mouzon, a distinguished SMU Department of Mathematics faculty professor from 1922-1971, who served as department chair from 1934-1963. Students that receive merit scholarships upon admittance to SMU can receive the scholarship for eight regular semesters or until they graduate, whichever comes first.

The Robert W. Strow Mathematics Scholarships are given to current SMU students that have demonstrated outstanding achievement in their first and second year mathematics courses and have decided to pursue a mathematics major. This scholarship was established by Robert Strow, a SMU Department of Mathematics professor from 1946-1982, who continued as a part-time instructor until 1994. Students that receive scholarships after being enrolled at SMU should develop a plan to complete the mathematics major in consultation with the mathematics advisor. The merit scholarship typically covers the regular semesters required to complete the plan.

All students in receipt of a mathematics scholarship must:

  1. Be enrolled in at least one course in the mathematics department each semester.
  2. Maintain SMU scholarship status including a 3.00 cumulative SMU grade-point average.
  3. Maintain a 3.00 cumulative GPA in their mathematics courses (courses labeled MATH XXXX).
  4. Declare a mathematics major at the earliest opportunity (normally at the beginning of the sophomore year).
  5. Maintain progress toward a B.S. degree in mathematics in consultation with the Director of Undergraduate Mathematics.

Additional information including the application process can be found at Dedman College Merit Scholarships or please contact Professor Weihua Geng (Director of Undergraduate Studies in Mathematics).