About Dedman College

Dedman College Quick Facts

Almost half of SMU’s undergraduates choose majors or minors in Dedman College, the oldest, largest, and most diverse academic unit at SMU. Undergraduate students in Dedman College may major in more than 40 baccalaureate degree programs and minor in 60 areas through 16 departments, as well as numerous interdisciplinary and pre-professional programs.

Leadership | Fast Facts | Academic Departments | Popular Majors | Noteworthy Programs | Institutes and CentersAlumni | Notable Alumni


Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Leadership


Dean, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Thomas DiPiero, Ph.D., Cornell University

Contact Information

Physical location:
3225 University Blvd.
2nd Floor, West Wing;Dallas Hall
Dallas, TX 75205

Phone: 214-768-2440
E-mail: DedmanDean@smu.edu
Fax: 214-768-4129

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 750235
Dallas, TX 75275-0235

Fast Facts

  • Over 100 majors and minors 
  • 33 graduate programs, with 18 leading to a master’s degree and 15 to a Ph.D. degree
  • 16 academic departments
  • Over 300 faculty members

Back to top

Academic Departments (Number of Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty)

  • Anthropology (15)
  • Biological Sciences (9)
  • Chemistry (14)
  • Roy M. Huffington Department of Earth Sciences (11)
  • Economics (20)
  • English (22)
  • William P. Clements Department of History (20)
  • Mathematics (19)
  • Philosophy (10)
  • Physics (11)
  • Political Science (15)
  • Psychology (16)
  • Religious Studies (8)
  • Sociology (3)
  • Statistical Science (11)
  • World Languages & Literature (12)

Back to top

Popular Majors

  • Economics
  • Psychology
  • Political Science
  • Biological Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Markets and Cultures

Back to top

Noteworthy Programs

  • University Honors Program: This is an intellectual community for SMU’s most talented undergraduates.
  • The Tower Center Forum in the John Tower Center for Political Studies: The Forum enables members to help advance the pursuit of global solutions to the important issues facing the world and to have access to leading voices shaping public policy today via monthly lectures, conferences, and dinners.
  • Discernment and Discourse: These courses prepare students to read, write and think competently, analytically and critically at the college level.
  • English as a Second Language: Created in 1998 within the Office of General Education, the English as a Second Language program offers University-wide academic support for students whose primary language is not English.
  • Hilltop Scholars: The Hilltop Scholars Program is a unique living and learning community that provides a supportive academic and residential environment for SMU students who have demonstrated high academic ability and leadership qualities.
  • Embrey Human Rights Program: This program educates and trains future generations of human rights advocates and responsible citizens of the world.
  • Dedman College Scholars: These scholars have received merit-based scholarships for students pursuing a Dedman College major.

Back to top

Institutes and Centers

Back to top


As the largest and most diverse college on campus, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences has a strong alumni network of nearly 10,000 in Dallas County and 36,000 worldwide. 

Back to top

Notable Alumni

  • William P. Clements, former Texas Governor and Deputy Secretary of Defense, Honorary degree 1974
  • James Cronin, Nobel Prize-winning physicist, 1951
  • Larry R. Faulkner, former President of the University of Texas, 1966
  • Ray Hunt, Chair and CEO, Hunt Oil Company, 1965
  • Karen Hughes, former Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs, 1977
  • Roy M. Huffington, former U.S. Ambassador to Austria, 1938
  • Jeanne L. Phillips, former U.S. Permanent Representative and Ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, 1976

  • Back to top