Travel to a Restricted Region

Below is the current list of regions or countries where travel is categorized as “restricted,” meaning additional planning or review is required in order to have travel to these destinations potentially approved. This list is continuously monitored and updated using the latest data available from open source intelligence, government and non-government agencies on the ground in these regions, and internal SMU matrices of university risk tolerance.

Under current guidelines, countries or regions that have been assigned an “orange” or “red” level of risk especially require increased scrutiny for safety planning, and additional time for review and approval of travel to these sites may be required. Approval to a "red" level country is highly unlikely. 

Travelers should plan to submit their travel requests no later than 60 days prior to their intended travel date.

Click here to view the restricted region list