Give Now

2013 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2017 SMU Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Peggy Higgins Sewell ’72

Peggy Higgins Sewell

Peggy Higgins Sewell exemplifies the dedicated volunteer leadership that is vital to community organizations. She earned her B.F.A. degree in art history from SMU in 1972 and has been a loyal supporter of her alma mater ever since. She currently serves on the Executive Board of Meadows School of the Arts at SMU. She and her husband, Carl, have co-chaired the SMU Annual Giving Campaign. Together they established the Sewell Meadows Scholarships for students in the Meadows School.

Peggy Sewell has provided leadership to numerous organizations benefiting her community and beyond. Her current service includes membership on the Dallas Museum of Art Board of Trustees, Junior League of Dallas Sustainer Advisory Board, Salvation Army of Dallas Advisory Board, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (Houston) Board of Visitors, and St. Martin’s Episcopal School (New Orleans) Alumni Board. She also serves on the board of Baylor Health Care System Foundation and has chaired its Annual Giving Campaign. She has chaired many events benefiting community causes.

Her contributions to the arts in Dallas were recognized with the 2013 TACA Silver Cup Award. She also has received the Profiles in Leadership Award presented by the annual SMU Women’s Symposium, the Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority of Dallas Golden Key Award and the Distinguished Alumna Award from St. Martin’s Episcopal School of New Orleans. Peggy and Carl Sewell were honorees at the 2009 SMU Meadows at the Meyerson annual benefit concert and together received the Flora Award from Texas Discovery Gardens.