Give Now

     The L. Frank Pitts Endowed President's  Scholarships
     The Linda Pitts Custard Endowed President's  Scholarship
     The William A. Custard Endowed President's  Scholarship
L. Frank Pitts, Linda Pitts Custard and William A. Custard, Donors

The respect and loyalty of the Pitts/Custard family for SMU prompted L. Frank Pitts, his daughter, Linda Pitts Custard ’60, ’99, and her husband, William A. Custard ’57, to fund four President’s Scholarships. The late Mr. Pitts shaped the modern energy industry through his natural gas and oil businesses and provided his leadership to a number of civic causes, including the Dallas Opera, Dallas Citizens Council, Baylor University Medical Center Foundation and the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth, among others.
    Mr. Custard, president and CEO of Dallas Production, Inc., serves on the Edwin L. Cox School of Business Executive Board as well as the Advisory Board for the Maguire Energy Institute, and is a member of the National Petroleum Council, serving as an advisor to the Secretary of Energy. Mrs. Custard, general partner of Custard/Pitts Land and Cattle Company, is on the Meadows School of the Arts Executive Board, served as a trustee of the University for 12 years and is a member of the Campaign Leadership Council for SMU’s Second Century Campaign and the Executive Board of the Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility. Presently she also chairs the Advisory Council of the Meadows Museum. Mrs. Custard received the SMU Distinguished Alumni Award in 2007. Together, Mr. and Mrs. Custard hold the distinction of being the only couple who were both honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award from Cox School of Business.
    In addition to their support of President’s Scholars, Mr. and Mrs. Custard also endowed the L. Frank Pitts Oil and Gas Lecture Series, the L. Frank Pitts Oil and Gas Scholars and the William A. and Linda P. Custard Meadows Scholar. Most recently, they established the Linda P. and William A. Custard Director of the Meadows Museum and Centennial Chair in the Meadows School of the Arts.